T is for…

Totally Old School! :)

I was at my parents house last weekend, looking through my mom’s cookbooks and I stumbled across this little gem from my childhood!

I’m not exactly sure when and where I got this, but it must go way way back. It may have been a gift from my grandma, but I honestly can’t remember. I do remember making things from it though! Like “M is for Mud Pie” and “U is for Upside-Down Pineapple Cake.” I was feeling nostalgic, so I decided to break out one of these kid-friendly recipes today. So much fun! I had a blast following along with the little pictures and easy instructions. I can’t wait to be able to do things like this with my own kids someday!

I know we never made this bread when I was kid. I would have remembered it for sure. So cute! It uses quick-acting yeast, so start to finish time is about half that of other breads. I contemplated just using regular yeast, because that’s what I had on hand, but I got nervous and ran back out to the store for a package of quick-acting. I’m glad I did. It’s a really easy, kid-friendly recipe. The finished product is okay. It’s not the best bread I’ve ever had, but let’s be honest. This is just for a cuteness show. Taste is secondary! :)

“T is for TURTLE BREAD”(Recipe source: Gold Medal Alpha-Bakery Children’s Cookbook)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 1/2 to 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 package of quick-acting dry yeast
  • 1 tbs. sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 tbs. of butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 raisins (I used candy, because that’s what I had on hand.)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Mix 1 1/2 cups of flour, the yeast, sugar and salt in a large bowl.
  2. Heat water, milk and butter to 125 -130 degrees; stir into yeast mixture. Stir in egg. Stir in enough of remaining flour to make the dough easy to handle.
  3. Sprinkle a surface lightly with flour. Turn the dough onto the surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes. Cover and let rest 10 minutes.
  4. Lightly grease a cookie sheet. Shape a 2-inch piece of dough into a ball for head. Shape 4 walnut-size pieces of dough into balls for feet. Shape 1 walnut-size piece of dough into tail. Shape remaining dough into a ball for body; place on cookie sheet and flatten slightly. Attach head, feet and tail to secure. Press raisins into head for eyes. Cover and let rise 20 minutes.
  5. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Make crisscross cuts in body, 1/4 inch deep to look like a turtle’s shell. Bake until golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes.

ENJOY! :)

10 Comments

Filed under bread

10 responses to “T is for…

  1. Oh my gosh! I love it. How adorable!

  2. Amy (Just2Good)

    How cute is that!? What a fun alternative to an everyday loaf of bread.

  3. I think my mom has that cookbook at her house too. I should go steal it. ;) What a cute loaf of bread.

  4. Oh my gosh this is sooo cute!!! I love it!

  5. I remember Alpha-Bakery!
    I will be buying this for my nephew right now. I’ll never forget those jelly pinwheels…. :)
    Thanks for the flashback!!

  6. Pingback: Don’t Photograph Your Food… « Milk & Honey

  7. How darling!!! It’s such a cute bread and any kid (as well as kids-at-heart like me) would be delighted with it! :)

Leave a Reply

