Anyone have the number for Onion-aholics Anonymous?

Hello, my name is Erin and I’m addicted to (cooking with) onion.

Now, it’s pretty rare that I’ll eat ‘em raw…once in a great while if it’s the right kind of sandwich, but for the most part I just cook with them. They are so versatile and flavorful. Add a some onion to a dish and you’ve got a mellow, sweet, mild flavor that adds all kinds of yumminess without a whole bunch of salt. Or fat. Or calories. I just love the humble little onion. Eric was one of those people who swore up and down he didn’t like onion in anything…guess who has changed his mind. I always, always, always have onions in the house ready to be turned into something delicious…like this fab pasta dish from Rachael Ray!

This pasta dish has everything I love…sweet, mellow onions, smokey bacon, and big old kick of spice. It’s super easy and totally yummy – a great alternative to your everyday meat sauce. The original recipe calls for Bucatini pasta, which is like spaghetti only the tube has a hole down the center. I didn’t even bother looking for that shape because I can guarantee I wouldn’t find it. I subbed rigatoni instead because Eric likes pasta pieces better than pasta strands. She also uses pancetta in the sauce – I subbed bacon. I can’t find pancetta either! Believe me, I’ve looked!

RIGATONI ALL’AMATRICIANA (Recipe adapted from: Foodnetwork.com – Rachael Ray)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 pound rigatoni pasta
  • Salt
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, 2 turns of the pan in a slow stream
  • 1/4 pound, 4 or 5 slices, pancetta*, chopped (I used 6 slices of bacon – next time I might add a couple more…just to make it a bit more bacon-y. A pound of pasta is a lot, after all.)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 to 6 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 (28 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Grated Parm cheese to pass at the table

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil and salt the water.
  2. Heat a large deep skillet over medium high heat. Add oil and pancetta. Cook pancetta 2 or 3 minutes then add onions and garlic and crushed red pepper flakes. Cook 7 or 8 minutes more, until onions are translucent. Add tomatoes and parsley. Season the sauce with salt and pepper. Simmer sauce over low heat until ready to serve.
  3. Cook bucatini pasta to al dente or, with a bite to it. Drain pasta well. Do not rinse. Starchy pasta holds more sauce. Toss hot pasta with sauce and serve. Pass grated cheese at the table to top pasta.
  4. * Pancetta is Italian rolled, cured pork, similar to bacon, but not smoked. Look for it at your deli counter. Bacon may be substituted resulting in a smoky tomato sauce.

ENJOY! :)

1 Comment

Filed under pasta

One response to “Anyone have the number for Onion-aholics Anonymous?

  1. After all the holiday dishes I’ve indulged in, this pasta is a great change of pace. Now I’m craving pasta!!

Leave a Reply

