Guess who’s back…back again…

Erin’s back…tell a friend…

Hello!!! Miss me?? ;) LOL.

I’m beyond thrilled to announce that I successfully completed the NaNoWriMo challenge and finished my 50k word novel on Thanksgiving afternoon. I gotta be honest though…I still haven’t read it from start to finish, so I’m pretty sure it sucks and makes no sense but I’m so tired of looking at it now, that I’ve decided to just put that aside for a while and get back to blogging! I’ve got boatloads of updates to do and now that the holiday cooking and baking season is here (yay!) I’m sure there will be a lot more coming in the month of December.

Eric and I were talking in the car on our way home that once it gets to be December 1, bets are off as far as the weather goes. Winter is officially here. What would have been some minor flurries just one week ago turns into a major storm as soon as the calendar clicks over to December. We actually had to cut our weekend at home short and head on back to Iowa to beat the snow…one day shy of the December 1 deadline! So here I am, cuddly and warm on my couch, watching the flakes fall outside our picture window and dreaming of a big bowl of comfort. Although it’s technically been weeks since I made this chili, tonight would be the perfect night to enjoy a big old helping of this. Mmmmm….

This is my absolute favorite chili recipe. Let me tell you why I love it…I’m telling you, it’s the BBQ baked beans in it. They give the whole dish a bold, smokey flavor that I adore. I also like the mixture of beef and sausage, it keeps things interesting. And I had never tried making anything with chipotle peppers in adobo sauce but…wow, love that smokey heat! I don’t care for chili when it’s all soupy…it needs to be thick and hearty. This one has the perfect texture.

I’m just going to say it flat out…this is the best chili ever. Seriously…ever. :) It makes a HUGE pot and it freezes beautifully. Perfect for when you want something warm and quick.

TEXAS CHILI (Recipe Source: Bride & Groom First and Forever Cookbook)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tablespoon bacon grease or vegetable oil (I use veggie oil)
  • 2 medium yellow onions, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons chopped garlic
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 pound ground beef chuck (I use a 96% lean, but that’s just my preference)
  • 1 pound Italian sausage links, removed from casings and crumbled (I use turkey Italian sausage, again – just my preference)
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt, plus more as needed
  • 2 cans (28 oz) crushed tomatoes
  • 1 can (15 oz) kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (15 oz) BBQ baked beans, drained
  • 1 tablespoon minced canned chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, plus more as needed.

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Heat oil in an 8 quart heavy-bottom stockpot over medium heat. Add the onions and garlic and cook, stirring occasionally until tender, 7 to 10 minutes.
  2. Add the chili powder, paprika, cumin and oregano and stir until the spices are well combined. Add the ground beef, sausage, and 1 teaspoon of the kosher salt.
  3. Increase heat to medium-high and cook the meat, stirring frequently, until cooked through, 8 to 10 minutes.
  4. Stir in remaining ingredients. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 1 hour. Adjust the seasonings with more kosher salt or chipotle chiles if necessary. Serve with your favorite chili fixin’s. (I’m a purist…just shredded cheddar for me!)

ENJOY! :)

5 Comments

Filed under beef, sausage, soup

5 responses to “Guess who’s back…back again…

  1. Oooh, I want to try this! The addition of chipotle in adobo sauce is a great idea!

  2. Pingback: Where the boys are « Milk & Honey

  3. Pingback: Sweet! Potatoes! « Milk & Honey

  4. Pingback: The BIG News « Milk & Honey

  5. Pingback: Beef and Sausage Chili « Bella's Bistro

Leave a Reply

