Bachelorette Bounty

My very very dear friend is getting married in March (can’t believe it’s almost here! Hooray!) and I am beyond thrilled and honored that she asked me to stand up with her. We have been buddies since college and she stood up for me, so I’m excited to be doing the same for her. Her fiance is a wonderful guy and I know they are going to have a blast enjoying their happily ever after together.

Her bachelorette party was last weekend and I just knew I had to jump right in with a fun treat. I got all cocky and big headed thinking I would make the ever popular “butt” cookies. I first saw these in a bio of a former nestie, MrsBowen, but I have seen them in multiple places since then. They are absolutely perfect for a bachelorette party, especially one that has a lingere theme. So cute!

Armed with a prayer and good intentions, I decided to go for it. Never mind the fact that I had never even touched royal icing before…how hard could it be, right? Right. Well, it took me pretty much the entire day the day before the party, but I have to say, I was extremely pleased with the way they turned out! I think these cookies are a great way to get the feel for working with royal icing because they incorporate very simple shapes and designs. I am the first to admit that they are far from perfect, but for my first try, they came out great! HUGE hit at the party!

I used a pretty basic sugar cookie recipe for the cookies. Click here for the one I used. You can use your favorite. All you have to do is cut out each cookie with a heart-shaped cookie cutter, turn them upside down and slice off the pointed end. Perfect little butts! :) And then I got the recipe and technique for the royal icing from Annie over at Annie’s Eats. Thanks, Annie, for the easy to follow directions and tips!

Of course, I couldn’t do this without at least one screw up. LOL. I forgot to thin out portions of my icing for filling in after piping, so that’s why it looks pretty thick on each cookie. But, like I said, with such simple shapes, it really didn’t affect the finished product too much. I’m looking forward to giving royal icing a try again! It’s a lot of fun, and it’s great to see people’s eyes light up when they see the final result!

12 Comments

Filed under cookies

12 responses to “Bachelorette Bounty

  1. Too funny!!! How’d you make the butts so perfectly round? :)

  2. Great job!! They’re adorable. I haven’t braved royal icing yet… it’s on my list of things to do soon. Hopefully I will have success like you did!

  3. I love these, they look awesome!

  4. themilkmanswife

    Pennies – To make the “butts” I used a heart shaped cookie cutter, turned each one upside down, and cut off the pointed tip. Instant butts! LOL.

    Hmmm…this is probably useful information…can’t believe I forgot to put it in the actual post! Thanks for the reminder! :)

    ::off to go edit::

  5. Annie

    They look so cute! I’m glad my tips were helpful to you.

  6. joelen

    I love the cookies! Adorable!

  7. These look great! Congrats on trying them – I am still too scared to work with the icing!

  8. How cute are these? And they look good too!

    I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you for an award :) You can pick it up here: [URL]http://kickinkitch.blogspot.com/2009/02/i-feel-so-flattered.html[/URL]

  9. Oh my goodness, I absolutely freaking love these!!! Must save them for pool parties this summer, haha!

  10. Pingback: Books ‘n’ Butter « Milk & Honey

  11. Pingback: I Got My Mind Set On…Cookies… « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

