The Perfect Little Bite!

I get a big kick out of Eric’s co-workers. If someone is having a party or if there something going on that they want others to know about, they send out MS Outlook meeting notices. Quick, easy, good way to see who can come and who can’t without tracking them down. Why, yes, I accept your meeting invitation for copious amounts of wine and food on Saturday night from 6 until 11. LOL. That’s just hysterical to me.

Eric informed me of such a meeting notice earlier this week. Hooray! A chance to make up some goodies and spend a nice evening with friends. Since we were doing a “wine” theme (I say “wine” because, yes, we were drinking wine, but there was no rhyme or reason to what we were drinking, no structured tasting or anything, it’s more like lets pop a bunch of bottles and see how many we can kill over the next six hours.) so I decided a nice bite-sized dessert would go well with the spread of appetizers we chowed down on. Eric wanted me to do the Oreo truffles, but….as much as love those….they’ve been done! Time for something a little bit more sophisticated….it was a wine night, after all. Heh…

I decided to go with bite-sized, mini-cheesecakes. Easy, creamy, always a crowd pleaser! I did a lemon-scented cheesecake with a mixed berry topping. They came out perfect! Light and refreshing. The perfect little bite. Easier to transport and even easier to eat! Big hit at the party. I even kept a few behind at home so we had a couple to snack on.

I found a basic mini-cheesecake recipe and modified it some. I decided to stick with the standard graham cracker crust and thought that worked out well in my mini muffin tins. YUM!!

LEMON SCENTED MINI-CHEESECAKES WITH MIXED BERRY TOPPING (Recipe inspired by: Allrecipes.com)

Makes 48 cheesecakes

Cheescakes:

  • 1 sleeve honey graham crackers, crushed to fine crumbs
  • 3 to 4 tablespoons of butter, melted
  • 2 (8 oz) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoons lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • small splash of vanilla
  • Mixed berry topping (recipe follows)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two 24 tin mini muffin tins with paper liners.
  2. In a small bowl, mix the graham cracker crumbs with melted butter, stir with a fork until just moistened. Spoon about 1/2 teaspoon of crumbs into each liner and pack down (a shot glass is a useful tool for this!) Bake the crusts for about 8 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, cream together cream cheese, sugar, eggs, lemon zest, lemon juice, and vanilla until well combined. Top each crust with the mixture, filling the cups almost to the top. Bake for 15 minutes. Transfer to wire racks to cool completely. Top each cheesecake with about 1/2 teaspoon of the berry topping. Chill in the refrigerator for an hour before serving. Store leftovers covered in the fridge.

Topping:

  • 1 (16 oz) package frozen mixed berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries)
  • 1 /4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 teaspoons of cornstarch
  1. Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until the berries are reduced and the mixture thickens, about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and cool before using. Store leftovers tightly covered in the refrigerator.

ENJOY! :)

14 Comments

Filed under desserts, fruit

14 responses to “The Perfect Little Bite!

  1. Laura

    I just wanted to tell you that these look absolutely delicious! If you haven’t already, you should submit these to foodgawker/tastespotting…great photo! : )

  2. These are adorable! It makes eating cheesecake easier too!

  3. I agree, cheesecake is always a crowdpleaser! I love the lemon with the berry topping. Looks so great!

  4. bakingblonde

    how cute!! I LOVE cheesecakes!

  5. Perfect bite is RIGHT! I need one of these NOW!! YUM!

  6. Pingback: Don’t Photograph Your Food… « Milk & Honey

  7. Those cheesecakes are too cute!!

  8. Pingback: Holy Guacamole! « Milk & Honey

  9. Those look beautiful! I found your picture through a Google Image search, and I’m researching for a potential bride client who would like mini cheesecakes for her wedding. Did you have problems peeling the wrappers off of the cheesecakes?

    • themilkmanswife

      Hi Jenn – Thanks for the comment. :) I don’t recall having any issue with the wrappers sticking to the cheesecakes. I think they peeled off pretty easily.

  10. Pingback: Pros and Cons | Milk & Honey

  11. Jennifer Ramsay

    How far in advance can I make these.

    • themilkmanswife

      They keep pretty well, but I probably wouldn’t make them more than a day or two in advance because the crusts get kinda mushy the longer they sit. I’d also keep the topping separate until ready to serve. Hope that helps!

  12. Julie

    They’re delisous!!! My crumbs didn’t stick but I think it was because I didn’t add enough butter! So if your making these I recommend using 4 tablespoons not 3

Leave a Reply

