Sweet ‘n’ Spicy

So….tired of blueberry recipes yet?? Me neither! That gallon bucket in my freezer is always in the back of mind. I always think, what can I make with blueberries today? All the desserts have been well and good (expect many more in the future) but I knew I wanted to use some of bounty in a savory dish as well.

This Blueberry Chipotle Chutney totally hit the spot. Love that sweet, spicy heat. It’s super simple to throw together and will keep for a couple months in the fridge. Just throw all the ingredients in a saucepan, boil until thick and enjoy! It’s so so so good. If you are into canning, this would be a great gift. I always think I need to get into canning, not so much because I want to do it, but more just because I think it’d be fun to design little labels and make cute gift baskets for all my friends. :) But that’s another post all together…

Tonight I basted some of the chutney on a grilled turkey tenderloin and then served it up a bit more spooned across the top. YUM! I’ve never purchased turkey tenderloins before but they were on super sale at the store this week, so I snatched some up. It took a bit longer on the grill, but the end result was tender and juicy. The chutney complemented the meat perfectly.

Next up for the remaining chutney – Monte Cristo sandwiches. Turkey, ham, swiss, a big ole glop of this stuff – dipped in an egg batter and grilled until golden. Hello deliciousness! I think it would also make an AWESOME turkey panini. A little smoked turkey, brie cheese, the chutney, something green (arugla, perhaps) piled high on some really good bread and pressed until crunchy and melty.

Here’s a napkin…you’re drooling. I know what will help….make this!

BLUEBERRY CHIPOTLE CHUTNEY (Recipe Source: MyRecipes.com)

Note: Below is the full recipe, which will yield about 4 cups. I halved it, but I think it will freeze wonderfully – so you may want to make the full recipe after all! :)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4  cups  fresh blueberries
  • 1  cup  finely chopped Granny Smith apple
  • 1/2  cup  white wine vinegar
  • 1/3  cup  sugar
  • 1/3  cup  honey
  • 3  tablespoons  grated orange rind
  • 1  tablespoon  mustard seeds
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped canned chipotle chiles in adobo sauce (about 2 chiles)
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  ground ginger

DIRECTIONS:

Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, 25 minutes or until thick, stirring frequently. Cool; pour into airtight containers.

Refrigerate Blueberry-Chipotle Chutney in airtight containers up to two months.

ENJOY! :)

One Year Ago:
Blueberry Muffins – Heh. More blueberries…what are the odds!
Raspberry Pineapple Sorbet – This…you will love. Trust me. To.Die.For.

3 Comments

Filed under fruit, sauces

3 responses to “Sweet ‘n’ Spicy

  1. This looks really good. I have been searching for a savory recipe to use blueberrys in. I will have to give this one a try. Thanks for the tips on what to use it on as well.

  2. Oh wow! That looks & sounds awesome! I so so SO wish my significant other liked blueberries! :P

  3. that looks great! I’ve been looking for some savory blueberry recipes

Leave a Reply

