The Great Imitation Oreo Chase

My husband loves Oreos. LOVES. He could sit there and stuff his face with an entire package if it were socially acceptable. Chocolate crumbs tumbling down his shirt and sweet creamy filling stuck in his teeth. They are his absolute favorite cookie.

He doesn’t get them very often. Two reasons. 1. I try to limit the sweets in the house to one at a time. And I prefer it if I make it. It’s just better, sweeter, tastier that way. Oreos are good….in a chemical-laced, barely food kind of way. (Is it just me, or do all the cookies and snack cakes we used to love as kids just not taste as good now? ) 2. They’re expensive. If they are not on sale, real Oreos break the bank! And for what? Not much.

So, if I’m going home for the weekend and Eric’s staying behind and I know I’m not going to have time to bake, I’ll pick up package for him to tide him over.

But I never buy actual Oreos. I am so cheap! As a result, my husband has become quite the expert on store-brand Oreo knock-offs. According to Eric, the Wal-Mart brand is satisfactory, the HyVee brand is downright inedible and the Target brand is the runaway favorite. To me, they are all about the same, but even I have to admit the HyVee ones…ew. ::shudder::

I started seeing recipes for homemade Oreos pop up this past fall. I was immediately intrigued. No more chasing down imitation Oreos! Hooray! It’s funny, because when I finally decided to make them (to give away as holiday gifts) the Oreo lover in the house only got to sample ONE. What a cruel, cruel world.

I used a combination of two recipes to come up with this holiday winner. I used the chocolate cookie recipe from Joy the Baker’s version. I was drawn to her description of the cookie being a combo of salty and sweet (which I LOVE.) I loved her idea for a white chocolate ganache filling, but since I was giving them away, I wanted something that wouldn’t spoil as quick. Because of that, I used Michelle’s filling from over at Brown Eyed Baker. I added a bit of peppermint extract to the filling and called it a delicious homemade treat!

These cookies were perfect. The filling was smooth and creamy and the cookie perfectly chocolaty and crunchy. Heaven. I’m sad Eric only got to have one. And I’m a little sad I only got to have one too. I’ll be making these again for sure! :)

CHOCOLATE PEPPERMINT SANDWICH COOKIES (Cookie recipe from Joy the Baker, filling from Brown Eyed Baker, which she adapted from Gourmet, December 2007)

INGREDIENTS:

Cookies:

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 15 tablespoons (7 1/2 ounces) unsalted butter, but into 3/4-inch cubes, at room temperature

Filling:

  • ½ stick (2 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • ¼ cup vegetable shortening
  • 2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon pure peppermint extract (depending on how strong you like it)

DIRECTIONS:

Make the cookies:

  1. Position the racks in the lower and upper thirds of the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, combine the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt and mix on low speed.  With the mixer running, add the butter a few pieces at a time.  The mixture will have a sandy texture at first and then will begin to form pebble-size pieces.  As soon as the dough starts to come together, stop the mixer.  Make sure all the butter is well incorporated.  If there are large butter pockets, mix for a few seconds more.
  3. Form and roll the dough straight from the mixer.  Do not chill the dough.
  4. Transfer the dough to a board and use the heel of your hand or a pastry scraper to shape the dough into a block about 5 by 7 inches.  Cut the block into two pieces.
  5. One at a time, roll each block of dough between two pieces of lightly floured parchment paper until about 1/8-inch thick.  Cut into 2 inch rounds with a circle cookie cutter.  Place 1/2 to 1 inch apart on the prepared baking sheet.  You can form and roll the dough scraps once after the first roll.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through the baking.  Remove from the oven and cool on the sheets for 2 to 5 minutes.  They’ll be too soft to move straight from the oven.  Transfer the cookies to a cooling rack and let cool completely. They will become crunchy as they cool.

Make the filling:

  1. Beat the butter and shortening together at medium speed until combined and smooth. Reduce the speed to low and gradually beat in the sugar and extract. Increase the speed to high and beat for 2 to 3 minutes until the filling is light and fluffy.
  2. Spread about a teaspoon of filling onto the bottom side of half the cookies. Top with a second cookie and press gently, just until the filling reaches the edges. Store in an airtight container.

Makes about 3 dozen sandwich cookies.

ENJOY! :)

One Year Ago:
Pork Medallions in a Cranberry Wine Sauce
– so flavorful and so easy.
Orzo with Sausage, Peppers and Tomatoes – Dinner in 15. LOVE it. :)
Sweet and Spicy Peanut Soup – Oh, this is a MUST try. I love, love, LOVE this soup!

3 Comments

Filed under cookies

3 responses to “The Great Imitation Oreo Chase

  1. I make a mean Oreo Cupcake…however, I really shouldn’t call it Oreo since I never use actual Oreos. A couple months ago the guy I’d dated last summer came over to pick up his order of Oreo Cupcakes and saw that I was using the Kroger brand, which mind you are just fine in a cupcake! He didn’t care that they were generic; the part that got him was that the Kroger knock-off Oreos are called “Kid-Os”

    We still laugh about that, but there’s no complaining about the flavor!

  2. Jen

    Yours look great. I made homemade Oreos last year and I wasn’t happy with the cookie portion, but the filling was SPOT ON. I’m not kidding, it tasted exactly like real Oreo filling. If you’re interested, here is my take on homemade Oreos.

  3. Eric (Erin's Loving Husband)

    I nearly gagged on the Hy-Vee brand oreos. They were the worst! Jen’s recipe looks great, I could eat Oreo filling by the gallon….if it were socially acceptable of course.

Leave a Reply

