Holy Guacamole!

I would like to formally petition to add guacamole to the list of the things I thought I didn’t like but actually do. Alphabetically, it would come after eggplant but before sweet potatoes. :)

It’s no surprise as a kid I didn’t like guacamole. I mean…LOOK.AT.IT. It’s a freaky bright green AND creamy. Ew. No, thanks. Pass the Velveeta dip, please…

Well, as customary with most things I thought I didn’t like but actually do, I am now kicking myself for staying away so long. I should have known that actual guac pays no resemblance whatsoever to the green-powder drenched guacamole flavored Doritos I once stuffed my face with in college after a particularly long night out on the town.

After that? SOURED. Seriously. I’m not sure they even make those anymore. It’s probably for the best. If you do see ‘em, resist those strangely perfect green triangles of highly processed corn product. You are better off. Just trust me, okay? Great. :)

Stick with the real thing, because unlike it’s green Dorito cousin, actual guacamole is a hearty, healthy and satisfying snack. Avocados are insanely good for you, full of the heart healthy fat we SHOULD be eating. The Dorito version? Not so much.

To save on added calories, serve it up with baked tortilla chips instead of fried. Or ditch the chips all together and use crunchy carrot or celery sticks as your dippers instead. Anyway you smash it, guac is good and good-for-you eats.

For our Super Bowl party this year, I decided to try my hand at some homemade guac. I’d never made it before, but how hard could it be, right? Truth be told – it’s not hard at all! Actually, it’s simple! It seems everyone has an opinion on what makes a good guacamole and even though I’m new to its wonderfulness, I had pretty good idea of what I wanted in my final product. First of all, I wanted there to be some definite texture and chunkiness to it – too pureed and I’m put off. That’s part of the reason I was interested in recipes that included both diced tomato and onion. Second, I have quite the hatred for cilantro (sorry, cilantro fans) so I knew I’d be leaving that out.

This recipe from my gal Ina fit the bill PERFECTLY. It’s a snap to throw together and it’s super fresh and delicious. The best part is you can adjust the ingredients to your liking. Salt is a key component to this, as it really makes the flavors pop. Be sure to taste as you go and season liberally. Then watch your party guests devour it. Or better yet, take the bowl, hide in a dark closet and eat it all yourself! :)

GUACAMOLE (Recipe Source: Ina Garten, Foodnetwork.com)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 ripe Haas avocados
  • 3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice (I subbed lime)
  • 8 dashes hot pepper sauce
  • 1/2 cup small-diced red onion (1 small onion)
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 medium tomato, seeded, and small-diced

DIRECTIONS:

Cut the avocados in half, remove the pits, and scoop the flesh out of their shells into a large bowl. Immediately add the lemon juice, hot pepper sauce, onion, garlic, salt, and pepper and toss well. Using a sharp knife, slice through the avocados in the bowl until they are finely diced. Add the tomatoes. Mix well and taste for salt and pepper. Makes about 3 cups.

ENJOY! :)

One year ago: Lemon-scented mini-cheesecakes with mixed berry topping. One of the most popular posts on my blog to date! I loved these little guys. :)

7 Comments

Filed under appetizers, veggies

7 responses to “Holy Guacamole!

  1. I freaking LOVE guacamole. LOVE IT. Crazy amounts. What I’m trying to say is… if this is still at your house I’m coming over. ;)

  2. I am with Erin! Guacamole is the crazy good!

  3. My H and I love guacamole. I’ll definitely have to try this recipe. Does the lemon juice keep it from getting brown after sitting for a while? That’s something that I’ve heared, but I’m not sure if it’s true or not. :)

    • themilkmanswife

      Hi Maryanna! The lemon juice does slow the browning, but it doesn’t stop it completely. I would say you probably have about a 2 day window before it turns completely brown and disgusting. LOL. The good thing is this recipe is easily scaled back if you don’t think you can finish the entire recipe in that time. It’s so delicious and addictive though! ;) Enjoy!

  4. mmm guac! its so heavenly delicious!

  5. Pingback: Top Ten for ’10. | Milk & Honey

  6. Pingback: Pros and Cons | Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

