All Puffed Up

Sometimes it’s kinda fun to make a meal out of something that technically isn’t a meal. Like cereal. Is cereal dinner? From a balanced nutrition standpoint, probably not. But when it’s late or you’re tired or you just don’t feel like turning on the oven and dirtying up a bunch of pots and pans, cereal totally hits the spot. And I don’t know about you guys, but whenever Eric and I go on vacation, we always find a local ice cream parlor and make big ol’ sundaes dinner at least once. Ice cream for dinner is a vacation MUST!

Obviously this is not an every day thing, but every once a while it feels nice to forgo all the rules about what makes a balanced meal and just have fun with food.

Eric really likes finger food type stuff. Anything bite-sized that he can just pop into his mouth is always going to be a hit with him. The guy has been working extra hard lately and needed a little bit of cheering up. Let’s face it – if he needs cheering up, then I need cheering up. If he’s blue, I’m blue. I must love the guy or something. Huh. How about that. ;)

So on Saturday, I decided we’d have a non-dinner dinner. Not a balanced meal? Meh. So what. It’s Saturday. For dinner, we had bread, cheese and meat. In tiny puff form that made it extra easy to eat way too many. Success. Although, for the record, I did cut up some raw veggies to eat on the side. So, I did do SOMETHING right. :)

These little babies are super easy to make and a lot of fun. They are the perfect make-ahead snack for a game day or an appetizer spread. They are light, fluffy and cheesey with a great hint of crunch around the edges (which I just cannot resist. EDGES RULE!) The pepperoni gave them great flavor. Really these are pretty customizable. Perhaps bacon, cheddar and scallions for your next brunch spread or Parmesan, garlic and herb for a side on lasagna night. Any veggies, cheese or meat you desire can be mixed into this puffy batter. The combinations are endless!

PEPPERONI PIZZA PUFFS (Recipe Source: Everyday with Rachael Ray)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 cup whole milk (I used 1% with fine results)
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 4 ounces mozzarella cheese, shredded (about 1 cup)
  • 4 ounces pepperoni, cut into small cubes (about 1 cup)  (I used turkey pepperoni)
  • 1/2 cup store-bought pizza sauce (I used Newman’s Own marinara – my preferred jar sauce!)
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh basil

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°. Grease a 24-cup mini-muffin pan. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour and baking powder; whisk in the milk and egg. Stir in the mozzarella and pepperoni; let stand for 10 minutes.
  2. Stir the batter and divide among the mini-muffin cups. Bake until puffed and golden, 20 to 25 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, microwave the pizza sauce until warmed through, then stir in 1 tablespoon basil. Sprinkle the puffs with the remaining 1 tablespoon basil. Serve the puffs with the pizza sauce for dipping. Serves 4.

Note: These can be made ahead of time. Place baked puffs on a baking sheet and put in the freezer until frozen. Transfer to a storage bag. When ready to eat, preheat oven to 350 degrees, place puffs on a baking sheet, and bake for 8 to 10 minutes until warm.

ENJOY! :)

8 Comments

Filed under appetizers, bread, muffins, pizza

8 responses to “All Puffed Up

  1. Jen

    I have been making these for weeks after I saw them on NoblePig.com blog a few weeks ago! They are amazing.

  2. Jen

    I have been making these for weeks after I saw them on NoblePig.com blog a few weeks ago! They are amazing. I even made them last night as a snack for my husband!

  3. These look amazing! I can’t wait to try them!

  4. These look so good and easy to make. I really have to try these. Thanks!!

  5. These were fantastic! Can’t wait to make them again – so easy and customizable.

  6. Pingback: Top Ten for ’10. | Milk & Honey

  7. Amanda Hewitt

    Um, LOVE! Will try soon! And yes, cereal CAN be a dinner! When I was preggo with my first that’s practically all I ate. I would always have 6-7 different kinds of cereal at all times, literally! Haha

  8. Pingback: Bite-sized pizza goodness! « Peace, Love and French Fries

Leave a Reply

