Weeded Out

Can we talk about weeds?

Weeds.

They’re all I can think about.

Every time I pull into the driveway.

Weeds.

Every time I glance out the window.

Weeds.

Every time I see our neighbor the Lawn Master suspiciously eyeing our yard from his very expensive and fancy ride-on mower.

Weeds. Embarrassment. Also, the feeling I should go out and apologize to said Lawn Master and beg him not to call the city on us.

Our yard? It’s a weed patch. It kind of looks like that lonely stretch of highway where the weeds grow rampant because of lack of mowing and maintenance. In other words, it’s an eyesore.

Yep. We’re THAT house in our otherwise well-groomed neighborhood. There’s also currently a rusty old farm implement parked on our driveway. So… that’s adding to ambiance as well.

You’re judging us, aren’t you? It’s okay. We know. Let me just say the rusty plow is just visiting and will be making its way down the road to a new home here very shortly. And we’re taking care of the weed problem. Promise.

We’ve had a couple dandelions here and there in our yard every since we moved in. Probably because the yard wasn’t all that healthy to begin with. They’d pop up and we’d just live with ‘em. Eric would mow over them for a couple weeks until it got blazing hot and they all died.

But this year. Yeesh… It’s been wet this spring. And it’s been relatively warm, as far as spring in Iowa goes. Things have been greening up and blooming in our area faster than I’ve ever seen since we moved here. And these little nuisances have completely taken over our yard. They may or may not have choked out the grass completely. Jury’s still out on that one. I mean, these are GIANT, MUTANT weeds. Look at this one:

This is the REDWOOD of Weeds. Look at the trunk on that bad boy. It’s an inch in diameter! THICK.

After I took that picture, Eric annihilated the thing by spraying it with hose at full blast. Where upon he turned to me and said: “I just succeeded in spreading the spores…and watering them.”

Touché, my good man. Touché.

Oh Weeds. You and I…we can’t go on like this. I’m sorry. So so sorry. The landscape guy is coming tomorrow. So…to the left, Weeds. To the left.

In an effort to distract myself from the spring nuisance that is our front yard, I went out in search of some of the great things about spring. The bright, colorful, juicy spring bounty.

And I found it! In the form of my favorite thing about spring…the STRAWBERRY. On sale for an amazing price, no less! SCORE! The first thing that popped in to my head – other than standing over the kitchen sink and stuffing my face with the entire pound, of course – was ICE CREAM!

I love strawberry ice cream. It doesn’t get near the hype it deserves. Vanilla is the big star with all its sundae and a’la mode applications and things. And of course there’s the fancy chocolate truffle, fudge ripple, peanut butter, caramel stuff that certainly has its place at the ice cream table.

But strawberry. It’s so pure. It’s so naturally sweet and delicious. And that color! So perfectly pink. Everyone looks great wearing it. ;) On their face, that is. It’s reminiscent of bare feet and sunglasses. Sunburns and pool floaties. Maybe it even reminds you of picking dandelions and blowing those puffy white petals into the wind…

Just…not in my yard, k? We have enough of those.

Anyway, this is a quick an easy recipe courtesy of the ice cream master – Mr. David Lebovitz! It’s not a cooked custard type of recipe so the prep work is prety minimal. A quick soak for the berries, a whirl in a food processor or blender and you’ve got the beginnings of a delicious treat. The result?  Oh so good. Smooth, creamy, pink perfection. It’s just bursting with fresh berry flavor. It’s like summer in a bowl! This ice cream does contain one interesting ingredient – sour cream. Now, I’ve said before that I’m not an sour cream fan, but here it works. The slight tang in the background keeps the final result from being too sweet and the thickness of the sour cream lends a great creaminess. If you tend to prefer the texture of the egg-based ice cream recipes, I encourage you to give this a try. I swear you won’t even miss the eggs!

STRAWBERRY SOUR CREAM ICE CREAM (Recipe Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 pound fresh strawberries, rinsed and hulled
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vodka or kirsch (I used vodka from a very old and questionable bottle that may or may not be left over from our college days.)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Slice the strawberries and toss them in a bowl with the sugar and alcohol.  Stir until the sugar begins to dissolve.  Let stand at room temperature for 1 hour, stirring every so often.
  2. Pulse the strawberries and their liquid with the sour cream, heavy cream and lemon juice in a blender or food processor until almost smooth, but still slightly chunky.
  3. Refrigerate for 1 hour. (I actually chilled mine overnight) Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Makes 1 1/4 quarts.

ENJOY! :)

One Year Ago: Another fabulous strawberry concoction – Strawberry Lemonade!

9 Comments

Filed under fruit, ice cream

9 responses to “Weeded Out

  1. emily

    I can totally relate! We went out of town for 10 days, came home and weeds had over taken our green grass!! If you look around at all the other yards in the neighborhood, ours is a total embarrassment. My husband claimed he could fix it himself. I was very doubtful, but he bought “weed be gone” which you attach to your hose and this morning when we woke up they had all wilted! So as of right now he might be right. Might be worth a try :-)

  2. ash

    i totally related on the weeds front too. and our beds?? oh dear. but i’m always too busy doing other things to help hubby out on the yard front :-)

    i haven’t tried this recipe yet from the perfect scoop but i’m a fan of the eggless recipes since my tummy can’t handle eggs :-) can’t wait to try this one!

  3. Our weeds have been crazy this year as well! I am working on getting rid of them and may have to call a lawn service as well. Your ice cream looks great and refreshing!

  4. themilkmanswife

    SO glad it’s not just us!! That makes me feel so much better. LOL. The lawn guy is coming today so hopefully he knocks them out! Silly weeds!

  5. Angie

    We are that yard too! I hate it. I keep telling my husband that our neighbors hate us for keeping dandelion seeds blowing into their yards! I couldn’t even count the number of landscape companies that tried to get our business – but no, I’m stubborn and cheap, “I can do it myself!”. Finally, FINALLY, we’re starting to get a hold of the whole mess. Good luck!

  6. Emily McQ

    do you think you could find a Splenda ice cream recipe? I soooo love ice cream! And of course LG loves it too….especially from her favorite Auntie Erin :)

    • themilkmanswife

      Aww! For my favorite sister in law and my favorite niece? ANYTHING! I bet you can make any ice cream recipe with splenda instead of sugar but let me do some research.

  7. Pingback: Project Food Blog: Ready, Set, Blog! « Milk & Honey

  8. Pingback: Top Ten for ’10. | Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

