Sweet Home…

Whenever we go home to visit my mom and dad in the Chicago ‘burbs, I always have to make a stop at one of my absolute favorite places: PORTILLO’S!!! Yum! It’s classic Chicago food – hot dogs loaded with all the Chi-town favorites (no ketchup!!), Italian beef dripping with juice, Italian sausage piled with yummy grilled sweet peppers. It’s heaven on a bun, basically. Add a side of cheese fries and an ice cold root beer and I am one happy camper. Well worth the calories. Every.Single.One.

One of my favorites there is the Maxwell Street Polish. It’s polish sausage loaded with yellow mustard and grilled onions on a chewy Italian roll. Being that my trips to Portillosare few and far between these days (boo!), I was craving a little taste of home tonight. Here is my take on one of my hometown faves, with a couple twists. I saw a hamburger recipe in my Kraft magazine that called for caramelizing onions and mixing in a little A1 Steak Sauce. Sounded interesting to me, but I don’t love A1 and don’t keep it on hand. But I always have a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce on hand and thought it would go good with my sausage! So I mixed that in instead! I served the sandwich with a yummy pasta salad that’s below.

GRILLED POLISH SAUSAGE WITH BBQ GRILLED ONIONS (Recipe inspiration: Portillo’s!, with inspiration for the onions from this burger recipe from Kraft)

Ingredients:

Polish sausage or Kielbasa (I cheated and used the pre-packaged, bun length links that are basically hot dogs. I’m sure there is better quality sausages out there, but I was feeling lazy)

Hot dog buns (I used brat buns from the grocery store bakery)

Your favorite mustard (I used honey mustard, because that’s my fave!)

Half a medium onion, chopped.

1 tbs. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 to 1 1/2 tps. of BBQ sauce

Directions:

Heat olive oil in a large skillet and add the onion. Simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring frequently until they are a deep golden brown. Stir in BBQ sauce.

Grill sausages until heated through. Add to buns, top with mustard, pile on those onions and stuff your face! YUM! 🙂

I wanted to bring in something a little different than the typical potato chips on the side, so I threw together a pasta salad. I have a huge problem with the typical mayo-laden pasta salad so this is my take.

BALSAMIC PASTA SALAD (Recipe Source: Me)

Ingredients:

1/2 box of your favorite pasta

1 head of romain lettuce, chopped

Grape tomatoes to taste

Roasted red peppers to taste, chopped (I used jarred, so I blotted off some of the moisture with a paper towel)

Fat-free balsamic salad dressing to taste (I used TJ’s brand, and used about half the bottle)

Shredded or grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cook pasta, drain and rinse with cold water.

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, add dressing and cheese, toss.

Refridgerate for about an hour to chill completely. Eat!

Enjoy! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under salads, sausage

One response to “Sweet Home…

  1. Pingback: Cheering for Cherries! « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

