Couscous with a Kick

My hubby Eric is a meat and potatos kind of guy. Nothing funny, nothing fancy. So you can imagine my frustration when trying to introduce him to new foods. I love to to try new things. New recipes, restaurants and menu items. It makes my otherwise boring life exciting. Every new flavor is like an adventure. Eric, on the other hand, wants to eat what he knows he likes.

One of the things I introduced him to when we got married is couscous. His face was priceless the first time I put it in front of him about 2 years ago. “It’s little pasta balls,” I told him. “What’s not to like?!” He was still skeptical. But, bless his heart, he’ll try whatever I give him because he doesn’t want me to feel bad. Plus, he’d starve if he didn’t. HA! So, surprisingly enough, couscous was added to his list of acceptable foods.

To keep it Eric-friendly, I would prepare it very simply….cooked in chicken broth with a little S&P and a bit of parm cheese and Italian seasoning stirred in. Good…but not good enough.

Since we were grilling steaks on Saturday night, I wanted to find a way to kick it up a notch. This recipe was FANTASTIC. I loved the light flavors and the crunchy veggies. Even Eric enjoyed it. I will never go back to my boring old couscous again, this is SO easy!

SPINACH AND RED PEPPER COUSCOUS (Recipe source: AllRecipes.com)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 medium red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 large red onion, diced
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup NAKANO® Seasoned Rice Vinegar – Original
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 (14 ounce) can chicken broth or vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup currants or raisins (optional)
  • 1 1/2 cups couscous
  • 2 cups fresh spinach leaves, chopped
DIRECTIONS
  1. In a large saucepan, saute bell pepper, onion and garlic in oil, stirring occasionally until onion is soft, about 6 minutes.
  2. Add rice vinegar, herbs, salt and pepper; cook 1 minute.
  3. Stir in broth and currants; bring to a boil. Stir in couscous and spinach; cover and remove from heat.
  4. Let stand 5 minutes; fluff couscous lightly with a fork.

Enjoy! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under pasta, sides, veggies

2 responses to “Couscous with a Kick

  1. Your husband sounds like mine. It’s so hard to get him to try new things. Your couscous looks great!

  2. sherrilee

    This looks soooo good! We love couscous and we love spinach- so I’ll definitely be making this 🙂

Leave a Reply

