I don’t just scream…I jump for joy…

For ICE CREAM that is! Last week sometime, I mentioned in passing to Eric that I would really like to get an ice cream attachment for my KitchenAid mixer. I was not expecting to purchase one anytime soon. It was just an “I wish” kind of thing.

Ha ha…Eric. I am so on to you, my man! So he encouraged me to go ahead and buy it. Such a guy thing to do, I know exactly what he was thinking. He was thinking, “Hey, if she buys this thing that means she’ll make lots of ice cream and I get to eat it. That’s good for me. If I keep telling her to go buy it, she’ll think it was my idea and she will love me forever and will probably reward me in other ways. That’s also good for me! YES! A KA ice cream maker is a GREAT idea!!”

Well, it worked. I bought it and I am so glad I did. Since it was, of course, all Eric’s idea, I bought a book of ice cream recipes and brought it home so he could choose the first flavor. He choose Oreo Cheesecake ice cream.

It is pretty damn amazing…if I do say so myself!! 🙂

OREO CHEESECAKE ICE CREAM(Recipe Source: The Ultimate Ice Cream Book by Bruce Weinstein)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 oz. cream cheese at room temperature
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 10 Oreo cookies, crumbled

Directions:

  1. Beat the sugar and the cream cheese together until smooth and creamy. Beat in the egg and vanilla. Set aside.
  2. Bring the milk to a boil in a heavy saucepan. Slowly beat the hot milk into the cheese mixture. Pour the entire mixture back into the pan and place over low heat. Stir constantly with a whisk until the custard thickens slightly. Be careful not to let the mixture boil or the egg will scramble. Remove from the heat and pour the hot cheese custard through a strainer into a large, clean bowl. Allow the custard to cool slightly, then stir in cream. Cover and refrigerate until cold or overnight.
  3. Stir the chilled custard, then freeze in your ice cream machine, adding the crumbled cookies to the machine when the ice cream is semi-frozen. Allow the machine to mix in the cookes. For firmer ice cream, transfer to a a freezer-safe container and freeze at least two hours.

ENJOY! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under ice cream

3 responses to “I don’t just scream…I jump for joy…

  1. Pingback: Four Foods on Friday (or whatever today is) « New year, new name, new me

  2. Pingback: Bring on the ice cream! « New year, new name, new me

  3. Pingback: Mall Rats « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

