Peanut Butter Perfection

As evident from the post below where I am hugging my fridge, it’s high time I think about laying OFF the ice cream for a while. Yeah…not looking quite so slim and trim these days so I’m going to try to resit the urge to pull out the ice cream maker every week in an effort to save my waistline.

It was Eric’s turn to choose a flavor again and decided he wanted a peanut butter/chocolate combination. No complaints from me…as peanut butter and chocolate is pretty much the best combo in the world! We decided on Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip ice cream.

Now, I’ve made three ice cream recipes so far and each of them have been a custard-style with eggs that is cooked on the stovetop before chilling. I noticed the batter to be especially thick this time around as I was getting ready to freeze it. It may have been the added peanut butter to the already thicker custard. At any rate, I just had a feeling that the finish product would have a different texture than my other batches.

For me, there is a point where ice cream because TOO rich and creamy. Not that it doesn’t taste good, of course, but it takes on a texture that I just don’t like as much. Chewy, almost. Or gummy. Oh, I don’t know how to explain it! HA! If you’ve had ice cream from an Oberweis store (Chicago area chain), it’s similar to that. The butter fat content is so high, that it has no iciness at all. Personally, I like a little iciness…but that’s just me. This recipe just about crossed that creaminess threshold for me. Next time I make a peanut butter ice cream, I think I would like to try a Philidelphia-style recipe (no eggs) and see if that helps. The flavor is very yummy though!

PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE CHIP ICE CREAM(Recipe source: The Ultimate Ice Cream Book by Bruce Weinstein)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 tsps. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup miniature chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

In a medium mixing bowl, beat the sugar into the eggs until thickened and pale yellow. Set aside.

Bring the milk to a simmer in a heavy medium saucepan. Slow beat the hot milk into the eggs and sugar. Pour the entire mixture back into the pan and place over low heat. Stire constantly with a whisk or wooden spoon until the custard thickens slightly. Be careful not to let the mixture boil or the eggs will scramble. Remove from the heat and beat in the peanut butter. Pour the hot custard through a strainer into a large, clean bowl. Allow the peanut butter custard to cool slightly. Stir in the cream and vanilla. Cover and refigerate until cold or overnight.

Stir the chilled custard, then freeze in your ice cream machine according to the instructions. Add chocolate chips when ice cream is semi-frozen. Allow the machine to mix in the chips. Transfer ice cream to a freezer-safe container and freeze at least two hours.

ENJOY! 🙂

 

7 Comments

Filed under chocolate, ice cream, peanut butter

7 responses to “Peanut Butter Perfection

  1. bakingblonde

    I have never made icecream but this looks too good to pass up! Wish I had a big bowl in front of me now!! YUM!

  2. Ooh, I love the idea of PB ice cream! I wish I could make some, but it would only be me eating it since DH doesn’t like PB (and I sure don’t need a whole quart of ice cream to myself – lol!) It looks fabulous!

  3. This looks amazing.

  4. Oh wow, that is one good looking scoop. I can almost taste it! : )

  5. WOW that looks so sinfully delicious and creamy!

  6. Pingback: Mighty Fine Blueberry Pickin’ « Milk & Honey

  7. Pingback: Ready…GO! « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

