Going Bananas!

Eric and I went out of town for the 4th to visit his family. We came back yesterday afternoon and much to my delight, I had a whole bunch of overripe bananas just begging to become banana bread! I never get so excited to see spoiled food as I do when my bananas start to go south! 🙂

I love banana bread. It’s so simple, but the flavor is fantastic. Toast it up a bit, add a bit of butter and you’ve got one hearty yummy breakfast. I’m looking forward to digging into this all week long! This is my go-to recipe….perfect for weeknight baking when you don’t want to spend the entire night in the kitchen. I add a splash of vanilla and a little cinnamon to punch up the flavor. My changes are in italics.

BANANA-BANANA BREAD (Recipe Source: AllRecipes.com)

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon 
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp. vanilla 
  • 2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt (and cinnamon). In a separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. Stir in eggs, vanilla and mashed bananas until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

ENJOY! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under bread, fruit

One response to “Going Bananas!

  1. Annie

    Looks delicious! This is my favorite banana bread recipe as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

