Lasagna on a Roll!

This morning I turned over a new leaf and decided it was time to be more active. I’m the least athletic person in the world, but it’s time to start working exercise into my daily routine. I’m starting off slow, with brisk walks, but hope to work up to jogging in the next few weeks. In an effort to break us from some of our other habits, I’ve completely eliminated regular pop from the house and I’m switching exclusively to whole wheat pasta. I know, I know…big deal, right? But baby steps…it’s all about baby steps. I’m hoping little things will add up to big results.

I’ve been craving lasagna lately, but I’m always hesitant to make a whole pan because we can’t ever seem to get through it all…even from the freezer. So I decided to search out a lasagna roll recipe. When I came upon this one from Ellie Kreiger, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to put my whole wheat pasta kick to work! I LOVED this recipe. Seriously, sometimes I wonder if I should just go vegetarian because I always seem to enjoy my meatless meals just as much, if not more so, than meals with meat. Eric was lukewarm on this one, but I had a feeling he might feel that way. He missed the meat. All in all, I’m just pleased I was able to get a few extra veggies down his throat. Between the mushroom and spinach in this recipe and the marinara, he ate more veggies in one sitting than he has in the past month! LOL! Sneaky, sneaky!

PORTOBELLO LASAGNA ROLLUPS (Recipe Source: Foodnetwork.com Ellie Krieger)

*Excuse my craptastic photo…storm clouds rolled in and stole all my natural light!*

INGREDIENTS:

  • 12 whole-wheat lasagna noodles (about 3/4 pound)
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 12 ounces portobello mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups your favorite marinara (I use this one)
  • 1 (15-ounce) container part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 (10-ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Pinch ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • 3 ounces grated part-skim mozzarella cheese (about 2/3 cup)
  •  

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Cook the noodles al dente according to the directions on the package. Drain them well and spread them out onto aluminum foil or waxed paper to prevent them from sticking.
  3. Heat the oil in a large saute pan over medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and cook, stirring occasionally, until browned and all the liquid has evaporated, about 5 minutes. Season with 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Stir in 1 1/2 cups of the tomato sauce and simmer for 2 minutes. In a medium bowl combine the ricotta cheese, spinach, egg, the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, a few turns of pepper, and nutmeg. (I also added about 1/4 cup of grated parm in the filling.)
  4. Spread 1 cup of tomato sauce on the bottom of a 9 by 12-inch baking dish. Spread about 2 tablespoons of the ricotta mixture onto a lasagna noodle. Top with about 1 1/2 tablespoons of the mushroom mixture, roll the noodle and place it into the baking dish. Repeat with the remaining noodles. Spread the remaining 1 1/2 cups of sauce over the lasagna rolls. Top with grated cheeses, cover loosely with foil, and bake for 45 minutes. Uncover and bake for 15 minutes more.

ENJOY! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under pasta, veggies

2 responses to “Lasagna on a Roll!

  1. Thank you! I was planning on making a portabello/spinach lasagna, the traditional way, but the rolls are much more creative. 🙂

  2. yum! I was looking through Ellie’s cookbook over the weekend at my in-laws and copied this recipe down because it sounded so tasty. So glad you liked it. I will def be giving this a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

