It’s Breakfast…I Can’t Have Cake…

I know! I’ll have a muffin! Ha!

I went into the Target on Friday with the intention of purchasing one thing: Dishwasher Liquid. But then I saw that blueberries were on sale. And they looked so very plump and delicious. And I thought about how I hadn’t had a blueberry muffin in a long long time. And…well…you can guess what happened next: I picked some up of course!

I had planned on making these Saturday night for breakfast this morning, but my plans were derailed when Eric announced early Saturday morning that he was interested in buying a car and he needed me to go with him so I could drive our other car back. The kicker? The car was parked at dealership in St. Cloud, MN. So after a ridiculously long day, about 14 hours round trip, 9 of which were driving…I didn’t really feel like making muffins! Then this morning, I slept way too late to make these breakfast!

Well, after lunch I decided that, yes, I still wanted muffins. They’d make a great afternoon snack and they’d be great for breakfast for the rest of the week! 🙂 I went back to my trusty red plaid Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, it never fails me! These turned out moist, juicy and delicious! I really like the streusel topping. It added just the right amount of sweetness and crunch. Totally hit the spot!

BLUEBERRY MUFFINS (Recipe Source: Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup fresh or frozen blueberries (I used fresh)
  • 1 recipe Streusel Topping (below)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Grease twelve 2.5 in muffin cups or line with paper baking cups; set aside
  2. In a medium bowl dry ingredients. Make a well in center of flour mixture, set aside.
  3. In another bowl combine egg, milk and oil. Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir until just moisted (batter should be lumpy). Fold in blueberries.
  4. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, fill each two-thirds full. Sprinkle strusel topping over the tops. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 18 to 20 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in centers comes clean. Cool for 5 minutes. Remove and serve warm.

Streusel Topping:

Combine 3 tbs. all-purpose flour, 3 tbs. brown sugar, and 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon. Cut in 2 tbs. butter until mixture rsembles coarse crumbs. Stick in 2 tbs. of chopped nuts. (I used pecans)

ENJOY! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under fruit, muffins

3 responses to “It’s Breakfast…I Can’t Have Cake…

  1. Pingback: Strawberry-Rhubarb Fields Forever « Milk & Honey

  2. Pingback: Summer is finally here! « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

