It’s Good Being the Boss….

Eric pretty much has no say in what we eat. There, I said it. I used to ask him what he wanted but he never had an answer. In two years of marriage, I don’t think he has ever told me what he’d like to eat. I got one of two answers: “I don’t know.” or “Whatever you think.”

So I just stopped asking. I decided that, yes, whatever I think DOES sound great! Now, I know what he likes and what he doesn’t, and I’ve really been pushing the envelope lately on what’s considered Eric-friendly. He really is great about trying new things. Whether or not he enjoys them or not, well…he never says. I can tell though. I’m just that good.

This dish incorporates two things that are less than Eric-friendly…lots of veggies and asian flavors. Well, I’m the boss of this kitchen and what I say goes, so when I spotted this recipe for Chicken Fried Rice from Amber over at Amber’s Delectable Delights, I knew I just had to try it. I had grilled chicken breasts for dinner the night before, so this was a perfect way to use up the leftovers. And since I had all the other ingredients on hand, it went together quick and made for a delicious, healthy meal.

Well for me at least, Eric only ate about half his portion and then went into the kitchen for a couple brownies. Aw, poor guy… 😉 I followed Amber’s lead and used low sodium soy sauce in place of the teriyaki because that’s what I had on hand. I also added about a 1/2 cup of chopped green onion at the very end with the rice and peas, and then finished by sprinkling a bit more on top. Other changes appear below in italics.

CHICKEN FRIED RICE (Recipe Source: As seen at Amber’s Delecatble Delights, orginally from Bakespace: motherof2boys)

INGREDIENTS:
6 ounces cooked diced chicken
2 tablespoons water
1/4 c. low sodium chicken broth or bouillon
1 1/2 tablespoons low sodium teriyaki sauce
1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger root (I used about 1/4 tsp. ground ginger)
Pinch white pepper
2 teaspoon vegetable oil
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup diced onion
1/2 cup shredded carrot
1 1/2 cup cooked white rice (I used brown rice)

1/2 c. frozen peas

DIRECTIONS:
In small bowl, combine chicken, 2 tablespoon water, chicken broth, teriyaki sauce, ginger and pepper. Set aside. In large nonstick skillet, heat 1 tablespoon oil. Add eggs; cook, stirring until set but moist. Remove egg to warm plate. Add remaining oil and heat. Add onion and carrot. Stir fry 3 to 4 minutes, until tender. Stir in rice and peas. Cook until rice begins to brown. Add chicken mixture and egg. Cook 5 minutes longer until heated through.

ENJOY! 🙂

And finally, a product rave…I don’t know if it’s just me, but I cannot cook a perfect pot of rice to save my life. It’s either overdone or underdone or sticky or mushy or any other number of things rice should not be! Perfect rice is really key to a dish like fried rice, so I was pretty psyched when I saw these instant rice cups at the store. The cups are from Minute Rice and it’s fully cooked rice that comes in two perfectly portioned plastic cups. No cooking needed, just pop in the microwave and serve. I’ve seen similar products before, but they’ve always been seasoned with other flavors…which I’m not a huge fan of these days. I’d never seen just plain white or brown rice with nothing added! I just popped open my cups and added to my skillet! FINALLY, perfect (plain) rice. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under chicken, veggies

3 responses to “It’s Good Being the Boss….

  1. I need to learn from you…after one year of marriage I still ask “what do you want for dinner?” only to get the “I don’t know response.”

  2. Oooooh…this looks soooo good!

  3. Pingback: No Fear « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

