A Grocery Challenge

Does anyone else get so excited about new recipes that they run right out and buy a whole bunch of stuff to make them with little regard to what’s already in house? I do….and I’m starting to feel like it’s taking a big bite out of our bank account. I just get so psyched about trying new things! I can’t help it! So this week, I challenged myself to plan meals around solely what was already in the house. It really isn’t a coincidence I picked this week, seeing as I’m leaving town on Thursday morning for the weekend and Eric is following suit on Friday afternoon…less meals to cook. Ha ha! But a good start none the less.

So what did I have laying around to come up with a meal? Well, wonderful tomatoes and sweet corn from the farmer’s market this weekend. I had chicken breasts. Onions and garlic, of course…I always have those. Lovely herbs from my garden. And variety of other basics. Hmmmm…well, let the creativity flow!! Here’s what I came up with! I thought it was very yummy and flavorful. Eric skipped the tomato sauce (I knew he would! Wasn’t that nice of me to not put it on his meat?), but I enjoyed my creation.

SKILLET BRUSCHETTA CHICKEN (Recipe Source: Me)

**Note**: The following measurements are appoximate, feel free to adjust to your tastes.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 thin-cut chicken breasts
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp. dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. dried parsley
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • Half a medium onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 1 – 1 1/2 tbsps. balsamic vinegar
  • Parm cheese and fresh basil, for garnish

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Mix flour basil, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper in a shallow dish. Dredge chicken in flour, shaking of excess. Set aside.
  2. Heat olive oil in a large skillet, add onions and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook 1 minute more. Add chopped tomato and balsamic vinegar, cooking until the vinegar is reduced and the tomatoes are softened, about 5 minutes more. Remove mixture from skillet and set aside. Cover with foil to keep warm.
  3. Melt butter in the same skillet. Add chicken and cook until golden brown and cooked through, about 5 minutes on each side.
  4. Transfer chicken to serving platter. Spoon sauce mixture over the chicken, sprinkle with parm cheese and basil.

ENJOY! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under chicken, veggies

5 responses to “A Grocery Challenge

  1. jesstyler

    I’ve been doing something similar, though I’m not that good at coming up with my own recipes. It looks great! Nice job!

  2. Lorie

    Hi! I have a question regarding your bruschetta chicken (which I loved btw). The first time I made it, it was delish and perfect! The second time…the flour coating came off as I was cooking it. Where do you think I went wrong? Not enough butter, flame to high/low? It seemed like it was sticker and I left it out a little longer while I prepared everything else. I can’t remember what I did differently the first time.

    Thanks!

    • Whenever I’m cokking breaded things in the skillet, I make sure to refrigerate the breaded ingredient before putting in the skillet. It helps everything stick together better!

      I love bruschetta so I’ll have to try this!

  3. themilkmanswife

    Hi Lorie! I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe! I’m not really sure why the coating would come off…maybe there too much on there to begin with. I always make sure to shake it really good before I put it in the pan so the excess comes off! Sorry I don’t have more advice for you!! I haven’t had that problem myself. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Crush | Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

