Bad (but oh so good) Medicine

So I was having sort of an off day yesterday. Just feeling kind of draggy, not really excited about doing anything. I even took a nap this afternoon! Contrary to what Eric thinks, this is not a normal occurance! Well, anymore. So what if when we met I was the queen of the three hour afternoon nap? That was college…those days are long gone!

Due to my all around feeling of ickiness , I ended up downing about three scoops of this delicious, rich, chocolately ice cream I concocted in the middle of the afternoon. This is not a normal occurrence for me as I am not a big midday snacker/eater. I scooped it out to take pictures for the blog and instead of spooning it back into the container and putting it back in the freezer like I usually do, I sat down an ate the entire dish. I thought it would make me feel better. Um yeah…it didn’t.

I hadn’t made a chocolate ice cream yet. Please, that’s a given! Gotta make chocolate ice cream. What’s better than chocolate ice cream? Why, chocolate ice cream filled with goodies! I came up with a sinful dessert I call Loaded Sweet & Salty Chocolate Ice Cream. So rich, it should be illegal.

I found the recipe for the ice cream in my usual place (The Ultimate Ice Cream Book by Bruce Weinstien) and it’s a miracle I actually got this to turn out. You will notice that the recipe calls for mixing the batter in a food processor. Well, I don’t have a large food processor…only a mini. (Hint, hint, people. Ha!) So I did this in the blender. Just an FYI…Eggs + Sugar + Cocoa Powder = Some sort of chocolate flavored crazy glue. I have an awesome Kenmore blender that can power through even the largest chunk of ice but you should have heard the thing struggling to mix up this cocoa goo. It took a little while…starting and stopping, stirring and churning…but in the end I ended up a an amazing smooth and creamy batter.

LOADED SWEET & SALTY CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM(Ice cream recipe: The Ultimate Ice Cream Book by Bruce Weinstien)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 cups milk (I’ve taken to using 2% milk when making ice cream. Honestly, I can’t tell the difference. I’m not claiming that using 2% makes it healthy, but at least it saves a TINY bit of fat/calories)
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup mini Reece’s Pieces for baking
  • 1/2 cup mini pretzal twists, broken into large pieces

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place the sugar, eggs and cocoa in a food processor and blend until smooth
  2. Bring the milk to a boil in a heavy medium saucepan. With the food processor running, slowly pour the hot milk into the chocolate mixture through the feed tube. Process until well blended. Pour the entire mixture back into the pan and place over low heat. Stir constantly with a whisk or wood spoon until the custard thickens slightly. Be careful not to let the mixture boil or the eggs will scramble. Remove from the heat and pour the thot chocolate custard through a strainer into a large clean bowl. Allow the custard to cool slightly, then stir in the cream and vanilla. Cover and refrigerate until cold or overnight.
  3. Stir the chilled custard, then freeze in your ice cream maker. When the ice cream is semi soft, add chocolate chips, candy and pretzals. Transfer to a freezer-safe container and freeze at least 2 hours.
3 Comments

Filed under chocolate, ice cream

3 responses to “Bad (but oh so good) Medicine

  1. Wow! This sounds like a wonderful combination. Chocolate, peanut butter and pretzels… yum!

  2. This sounds delicious! I need to make ice cream again soon.

  3. Pingback: Summer in a Bowl | Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

