Encilada Deja Vu

I laughed when I took my pic of this enchilada slop I made because it looked alarmingly similar to this recipe that I make quite frequently. The general consensus is…looks bad, tastes good. I have decided that enchiladas are just ugly. What are you gonna do, ya know? They are sloppy. And they are messy. And, oh my goodness, they are heaven on a plate.

Enchiladas are quickly becoming one of my favorite thing to make and eat at home. They are so simple, filled with ingredients I almost always have on hand, and taste even better the next day! This time, I tried a different recipe for the red sauce. Now, I’m a red sauce fan. I’d try a green sauce but that would scare Eric so I think I’ll stick with red for now. I can’t do a sour cream or cheese based sauce though…not my style. This one was simple and delicious! I stuffed my enchiladas this time a mixture of ground beef, brown rice, salsa and cheese. Yum!

BEEF AND RICE ENCHILADAS WITH RED SAUCE (Sauce recipe: allrecipes.com)

**Note**: You will notice that the original recipe calls for a 6 oz can of tomato sauce. Then you probably notice, when you attempt to purchase such a thing, that a 6 oz can of tomato sauce doesn’t exist. Ha! Reviewers of the recipe concluded that there was an error and what is actually required is a 6 oz can of tomato PASTE. Which, low and behold, does in fact exist. So that is what I used. Came out great! I changed the ingredient list below to reflect that. Other changes are in italics.

Annnnddd…cue the ugly photo. Ready, GO!

SAUCE INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon minced onion (I upped this, I probably added closer to 1 1/2 tsps. What can I say…I like onion)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano (I used 1 tsp. of fresh)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil  (I used 1 tsp. of fresh)
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 1 1/2 cups water

ENCHILADA INGREDIENTS

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef, turkey or chicken
  • 1 cup cooked rice (I’m on brown rice kick…better for you and I notice no difference in taste)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • 8 flour or corn tortillas
  • Your favorite shredded cheese (I used a cheddar jack blend this time)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute for 1 to 2 minutes. Add the onion, oregano, chili powder, basil, ground black pepper, salt, cumin, parsley, salsa and tomato paste.
  2. Mix together and then stir in the water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees. Brown beef in a large skillet. Drain. Return to skillet, add cooked rice, s&p and salsa and simmer until heated through.
  4. Grease a 9×13 baking dish and coat the bottom with about a quarter cup of sauce. Heat tortillas, fill with beef mixture, sprinkle with about a tablespoon of cheese. Roll tightly and place seam side down in the dish.
  5. Pour remaining sauce over the top of enchiladas and cover the entire dish with cheese. (I like lots of cheese…I probably used about 1 1/2 cups. Feel free to adjust)
  6. Cover with foil and bake 15 minutes. Remove foil and bake an additional ten minutes or until cheese is brown and bubbly. Let sit 5 minutes before serving.

ENJOY! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under beef

3 responses to “Encilada Deja Vu

  1. It looks good to me! Then again, I love a big plate of greasy sloppy enchiladas.

  2. Pingback: Beef & Rice Enchiladas « Simply Jamie Cooks

  3. Pingback: Don’t Photograph Your Food… « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

