The Wild Crunch Bar Chase

So here’s something I bet you didn’t know: A Nestle Crunch Bar…Yeah, not as easy to come by as you might think! Seriously, as long as you can remember, you have seen Crunch Bars in supermarket check out lines every single time you have gone to the store, right? See, that’s what I thought too…apparently not! And so began the Wild Crunch Bar Chase!

I was all set to try out a cookie recipe that calls for chopped up Crunch Bars, so I figured I’d grab some when I went shopping for the week. Up and down every aisle….no Crunch Bars to be found. Hmmmm. Weird. An unfortunate fluke for sure. So I go home, put away my groceries and head back out to try another store. Sure enough…no Crunch Bars again! What?? FINALLY, at the last place I could think of that would possibly have these candy bars (outside of a gas station where they’d charge you a dollar each), I found Crunch Bars! Three times the charm, I guess. Sheesh!

In my previous entry, I mention my old school kids cookbook that I found looking through my mom’s cookbooks. Well, the actual reason I was going through them was to find my old Mrs. Fields cookie book. I used to love to watch her on TV…so blonde and perky. I watched every day after school. My mom and I used to laugh at how she said “fully incorporated” in every other sentence. Heh…

This book is full of yummy looking cookie and dessert recipes. I’m looking forward to trying more. These were a great first choice. I really enjoyed the different texture the crispy rice brings in and the flavor rocks. I only baked a dozen so I can control myself from stuffing my face with these all week. The rest are in the freezer to bake up later.

CHOCOLATE CRISPY COOKIES (Recipe Source: Mrs. Fields Best Cookie Book Ever)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) salted butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup crispy rice cereal
  • 8 oz. crispy rice chocolate bar, coarsely chopped (about 1 1/2 cups – this ended up being 1 giant 5 oz bar and 2 regular size bars for me)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees
  2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt and soda. Mix well with wire whisk and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, blend sugars with an electric mixer at medium speed. Add butter and mix to form a grainy paste. Scrape down sides of bowl, then add egg and vanilla. Beat at medium speed until light and fluffy.
  4. Add flour mixture, rice cereal, and chocolate chunks. Blend at low speed just until combined. Do not overmix.
  5. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets, 2 inches apart. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes. Immediately transfer cookies with a spatula to a cool, flat surface.

ENJOY! šŸ™‚

6 Comments

Filed under chocolate, cookies

6 responses to “The Wild Crunch Bar Chase

  1. Erin

    These look delicious! I love crunch bars and it looks like they would be amazing in a cookie šŸ™‚

  2. Oooh these look so delicious! I just love the rice krispies/crunch bar in the regular chocolate chip cookie. Mmmm.

  3. I am salivating! YUM!! I wish I could have one right now!

  4. Jackie

    Hi

    I was wondering could you make and chill the dough overnight before baking. Also you say to transfer the cookies to a flat surface after baking, what’s a flat surface, a cooling rack, a baking sheet, a countertop, etc.

  5. Pingback: Grocery Anxiety « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

