A Man-Pleasing Meal

Ahhh…it’s good to be back to blogging. I’ve been running around like crazy the last couple weeks with my new job and all the traveling we have been doing. I feel like I haven’t been in the kitchen in months!

Today was a cloudy, rainy, cold day here in northeast Iowa. A sure sign that fall is on the way. I was craving something warm and comforting for dinner. Since Eric is really busy with school and work,  and he was really a trooper going all the way to Indianapolis with my family this weekend even though he’s completely swamped, I thought he deserved a meal I knew he’d love. I have a tendency to put my own tastes before his because…well, I guess I’m a selfish, terrible wife. Heh….

This was way yummy and totally hit the spot on a cold day. The original recipe calls for grilling the calzones, which would be delicious I’m sure. I baked mine…because there was no way I was going to stand out there in this weather!! The perfect meal for hard working, meat loving man!

BACON CHEESEBURGER CALZONES WITH SPICY CAJUN KETCHUP (Recipe Adapted from: Everyday with Rachael Ray)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound refrigerated pizza dough
  • 1 tbs. extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for brushing
  • 3/4 pound ground beef
  • 4 slices of bacon
  • 1/2 small onion, finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used closer to a cup, I like lots of cheese
  • Salt
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 400*, divide the pizza dough and form into two balls. Place in a large bowl greased with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, cover with plastic wrap and let rest at room temp for 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, cook the beef over medium heat, breaking up the meat, until browned, about 5 minutes. Drain and transfer to a large bowl.
  3. In the same skillet, cook the bacon until crisp. Transfer to paper towels to drain. Reserve the drippings in the skillet (I soaked up a bit of the drippings with a paper towel and reserved about 1/2 tbs.). Add the onion and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes; add to beef. Crumble the bacon into the beef mixture and stir in the cheese; season with salt.
  4. On a lightly floured surface, roll out 1ball of dough into a 12-inch round and transfer to a large oiled baking sheet. Place half the beef mixture on one side of the round. Top with half the tomatoes. Fold over the dough to form a half moon; crimp the edge to seal. Repeat with the remaining dough. Brush the calzones with olive oil. Pierce a vent in the top of each calzone. Bake for 20 minutes until golden brown.

**Note:** I ended up with about a quarter of the filling left, probably because I didn’t roll my dough enough and I got nervous about filling them too much because I thought they’d burst. You could probably get away with only 1/2 pound of meet and two slices of bacon for two people.

SPICY CAJUN KETCHUP (for dipping!)

  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 3-4 drops hot pepper sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. Cajun seasoning

Combine and enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under beef, pizza

4 responses to “A Man-Pleasing Meal

  1. Ooh, that looks great! Homemade calzones are way better than any Hot Pocket and that spicy ketchup sounds awesome too!

  2. Pingback: My brain… « Laura’s Home Cookin’

  3. Pingback: He’s Gone « Milk & Honey

  4. Pingback: Whatchya Makin’? « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

