I could get used to this!

So things are a little different for me these days. The Summer of Erin is over and I am back to work. My new job is great so far! It’s nice to be doing something that really benefits other people. Working with volunteers is so laid back…everyone is so nice! Probably because it takes a nice person to actually want to be a volunteer. LOL!

The best part of all is that my office closes at 4:30! This makes me happy! I actually work 40 hours a week. No more working from home in the evening. No more Saturdays at the office. At 4:30, I leave my office and the whole day behind. By quarter to 5 I’m home and making us dinner! Woo hoo! By 7 dinner’s done, the kitchen’s clean and I have the whole evening to do whatever I want. What I want usually involves the couch, the blanket, and something on TV Eric doesn’t want to watch.

Tonight, with all the time I had to make dinner before Eric I got home, I decided to try a new recipe. This pasta dish is totally different and delish! I’m on kind of a red pepper kick these days so when I spotted this a couple weeks ago, I knew I just had to try it. Although…being a red pepper kick is kind of unfortuante because, DAMN, those things are expensive!! Over 2 bucks each. Luckily, they were on sale this week! Woo! The salami adds such a great flavor and texture and the wine just makes it even better! It’s so easy too! The sauce needs to simmer for a half hour or so, but it goes together quick. Yum! We really enjoyed this! 🙂

SPAGHETTI WITH SALAMI AND PEPPERS (Recipe Source: The Essential Pasta Cookbook)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tbs. olive oil
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 5 oz. sliced spicy salami, cut into strips
  • 2 large red bell peppers, chopped
  • 11 oz. canned crushed tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (I used more like 2/3 cup…more booze makes everything better!)
  • 1 lb. spaghetti

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Heat the oil in a heavy-based frying pan. Add the onion, garlic and salmi and cook for 5 minutes, stirring, over medium heat. Add the pepper, cover and cook for 5 minutes.
  2. Add the tomatoes and the wine and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 15 minutes. Remove the lid and cook for another 15 minutes, or until the liquid is reduced and the sauce is the desired consistanecy. Add salt & pepper to taste.
  3. About 15 minutes before the sauce is ready, cook the spaghetti in a large pan of rapidly boiling salted water until al dente. Drain and return to the pan. Toss half the sauce with the pasta and divide among serving dishes. Top with the remaining sauce and serve.

ENJOY! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under pasta, veggies

2 responses to “I could get used to this!

  1. Yay for a great new job with much better hours! Your pasta dish looks awesome and I could probably make this if I could resist from eating salami plain. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Hail to the Orange… « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

