An Apple-y Alternative.

So, the traditional side with my family’s delicious roast pork and dumplings is, of course, sauerkraut. Ehhhhh….I don’t love it. And I know for sure Eric would have no part of that. So I reached back in my memory file and remembered that you could often get applesauce as a side with a meal like this in Czech restaurants. Yum! That was what us kids always chose. I decided to try my hand at making my own.

This stuff is sooooo good! I can’t wait to eat it all week. Roasting the apples in sugar really brings out the flavor! And it’s so easy! The perfect accompiantment to my Bohemian bounty.

ROASTED APPLESAUCE (Recipe Source: Marthastewart.com)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/4 cup water
  • 6 tablespoons packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • Pinch of coarse salt
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 3 pounds small assorted apples, such as Gala, McIntosh, or Fuji (about 10) (I used all Gala – 3lb. bags were on sale at the store this week! Woo!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
  • Pinch of ground cloves

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Combine water, sugar, lemon juice, and salt in a 9-by-13-inch baking dish.
  2. Scatter butter pieces over mixture, and top with apples. (I sprinkled the apples with a little cinnamon before putting in the oven…I like my applesauce extra cinnamon-y.) Roast until apples are very soft, 30 to 40 minutes.
  3. Working in batches, pass apple mixture through the medium disk of a food mill and into a bowl. Stir in spices. Serve warm, at room temperature, or chilled. Applesauce can be refrigerated in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

ENJOY! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under fruit, sides

One response to “An Apple-y Alternative.

  1. Pingback: Interesting (non) weather we’re having here « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

