Cool, (no) Beans!

Raise your hand if you have a hubby who says he doesn’t like beans. Yeah, me too.

When I was a kid, I’d pass on anything that had beans in it, but now that I’m older I find myself liking them more and more. Eric will pick them out of everything so I rarely cook with them. I wish he’d learn to like them because they are so good for you! And filling!

So, I really really like chili. Actually, I’d say I love it. Sadly, I’ve taken to making it without beans in order to please the ever-picky hubster. I had some extra chicken breasts that I poached on Monday night after using a portion of the package in another dish. When I got home from work tonight, I started gathering up the ingredients to make a chicken chili….sans beans, of course. Now, with chili, there has got be something of substance in with the meat. When I make it with ground beef, I serve it up over pasta. Who wants to eat a bowl of meat and nothing else? That’s way too blah! I was in the mood for something different and, since I couldn’t include beans, I decided to mix in some healthy brown rice to fill it out.

The results were very yummy! I can tell when Eric likes one of my made up dishes by how much he eats. If he says it’s good but leaves about half his portion, that means he’s not that thrilled. If he says it’s good and eats every bite, that means he really does like it! Tonight, Eric got a gold star for being a member of the Clean Plate Club! 🙂

BROWN RICE CHICKEN CHILI (Recipe Source: Me)

**Note:** You will notice I don’t include measurements for the spices I used. It’s really open to interpretation. I was just seasoning as I went along, tasting and adding more as needed. I bet some chipotle chilis would really punch up the flavor of this dish. Mmmmm…I didn’t have any on hand so I had to skip that! Next time! 🙂

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 poached chicken breasts (I poached mine in chicken broth, half an onion cut into large chunks, and seasoned it with oregano.)
  • 1 tbs. olive oil
  • Half a medium onion, diced
  • Half a green bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 8oz cans tomato sauce
  • 1 14.5 oz can fire-roasted diced tomatoes, drained (If you prefer your chili more soupy, you can add the entire can. This is just a personal preference for me…I despise soupy chili so I drained off the liquid!)
  • Half a bottle of beer (Feel free to treat yourself to the rest of the bottle…I know I did!)
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Chili Powder
  • Cumin
  • Paprika
  • Oregano
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • Shredded cheese, for sprinkling!

DIRECTIONS:

Heat olive oil in a large, heavy sauce pan. Add onion and bell pepper, cooking until soft. Add garlic and cook 1 minute more. Add chicken and allow to heat through, stiring frequently. Add tomato sauce, diced tomatoes and beer. Season with spices. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 15 minutes. Taste and add additional seasoning, if needed. Add cooked rice, simmer 15 minutes more. Serve with a generous sprinkling of cheese on top!

ENJOY! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under chicken, soup

2 responses to “Cool, (no) Beans!

  1. jess

    I LOVE chili over rice … I picked that up in Hawaii where EVERYTHING is served with or over rice. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s figured out how good this is … my hubby still thinks I’m crazy! 🙂

  2. Sarah

    This sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

