I made ’em extra SLOPPY for ya’s!

“Lady, you’re scaring us!”

Okay, so I have every single line from Billy Madison mesmorized. I’ve only seen it, oh, half a million times in my ife. Still funny. Admit it…it’s funny. Yeah, that’s what I thought.

I served up this tasty little sammy to Eric last night and on his first bite, he promptly dribbled it all over his shirt. That’s when we had to start breaking out the classic Billy Madison lunch lady talk. And then spent the next few minutes laughing like a couple of kids. Hey, laughter is the spice of life, right? Who cares if it’s at something so outrageously silly!

You would think sloppy joes would be the kind of thing you STOP eating when you get older, not start eating. When I was a kid, I didn’t care for sloppy joes. I’m not really sure why…it’s very kid friendly. Maybe I was traumatized by this lunch room favorite as a small child and refused to eat it again. I don’t really remember. My mom actually made them herself…it wasn’t the canned Manwich stuff or anything. I can’t explain my dislike…but she always kept a bit of the meat aside and made me a hamburger instead. Thanks, Mom! 🙂

I tried this recipe as something easy that Eric would like because, hey, if kids really like it, that probably means my husband really likes it too. 😉 Turns out, it’s very good. I wouldn’t’ want to eat it everyday, but it was perfect for a lazy night of football. I have to admit though…it tasted WAY better the next day!

SLOW COOKER SLOPPY JOES (Recipe adapted from: Crock*Pot Slow Cooker Favorites)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb. ground beef, browned and drained
  • 1 envelope onion soup mix
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup BBQ sauce
  • 2 1/2 tbs. firmly packed brown sugar
  • Hamburger buns

    DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add all ingredients (except buns) to slow cooker, stir to combine.
  2. Cook, covered, on low for 4 to 6 hours or on high for 2 to 3 hours. Serve on hamburger buns.

ENJOY! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under beef

One response to “I made ’em extra SLOPPY for ya’s!

  1. oooooh, These look good! I love simple slow cooker recipes!

Leave a Reply

