Meet the Parents

I brought Eric home to meet my parents for the first time on January 1, 2004. It was senior year and we fled Champaign for the north and south, respectively, to spend the holidays with our families. Of course, I missed my little farm boy like crazy so we decided we meet at school for a New Years Eve bash with all our friends. There hadn’t been a memorable New Year’s Eve before that and there hasn’t been one since. EVERYone was there…they passed the champagne in Champaign and I got butterflies in my tummy kissing my honey at midnight. It was so much fun! Seriously, one of the best nights EVER!

Eric had plans to visit a a fellow suburbanite buddy of his from school, so he followed me up to my parents house from school on New Years Day. I’ll tell you what, I wasn’t even nervous! Eric was a natural fit for my family! I remember telling my dad about this great new guy I was seeing before he came. An engineer…that’s plus 100 points. A baseball fan…add an additional 50. Cardinals fan though…ouch, minus 25 points. A car guy…give him those 25 points back. Then add a trillion points for being kind, respectful, hardworking, focused, smart, articulate, funny, and having impeccable taste in women (right, Dad? 😉 LOL!)

So anyway, it was a great first meeting! So great, in fact, that he wasn’t even frightened away and decided to come back a few days later. He showed up in the middle of a horrible Chicago snowstorm with the intention of driving all the way back to Champaign that night. While the snow fell and the wind howled we sat down our very first family dinner together.

And what did we have? Chicken Parmesan! Don’t ask me why I remember that…I just do. I remember lots of seemingly insignificant details of our relationship. But that’s the thing…they aren’t insignificant to me! They are memories. Great memories! And I can’t wait to make a trillion more with him.

Here’s my easy-peasy, toss together with whatever’s in the house, eating in about 30 version of Chicken Parm. I like the tang of buttermilk with chicken, and it’s an easy alternative to beaten eggs to get your breadcrumbs to stick.

ERIN’S EASY BUTTERMILK CHICKEN PARMESAN (Recipe Source: Me)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, pounded to 1/2 inch thick
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup parm cheese, divided
  • 1/2 tsp. dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp. minced garlic (I use the jarred stuff…like I said, easy-peasy!)
  • 1/2 cup italian style bread crumbs
  • 2 tbs. olive oil
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzerella cheese
  • 1 jar spaghetti sauce (store bought or homemade)
  • Hot cooked pasta of your choice
  • More mozzerella and parm cheese for sprinkling

DIRECTIONS

Combine buttermilk, 1/4 cup of buttermilk, basil, oregano, parsley, and garlic in a shallow dish. Marinated chicken in the mixture for about 15 minutes. Coat in breadcrumbs.

Heat olive oil in a skillet add chicken and cookjust a few minutes on each side, until golden brown and cruncy. Transfer to a greased baking sheet and bake  at 400 until done (about 15 minutes). Sprinkle with mozzerella cheese and remaining parm cheese during the last 5 minutes of baking and cook until melted and bubbly.

Serve with pasta, top with sauce, sprinkle with more cheese and ENJOY! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under chicken, pasta

3 responses to “Meet the Parents

  1. Looks delicious! And super easy. Great job!

  2. Richinlove

    What a great blog post, a cute story and a yummy meal. 5 stars!

  3. So did he drive back home that night? And is he still a Cardinals fan (25 points from me if he still is!).
    This looks really good.

Leave a Reply

