“You know…if you want…”

Eric is so funny. It’s so very rare that he’ll come right out and say, “I’d like to have this or that.” I think he feels guilty. Since I’m the one that does all the hard work when it comes to cooking and cleaning up, he feels like he shouldn’t have any say in what we eat. That’s ridiculous, of course! Cooking and baking is all about pleasing others. And since we are out here in Iowa all by our lonesomes, “others” pretty much consists of my husband and his occasional friend. I would love it if he spoke up more often. I live to please!

When he does have something in mind that he would like to have, he’ll try to use this reserve psychology on me so it doesn’t seem like his idea. It always makes me smile. He’s so sweet.

Here’s a recent conversation that inspired my Saturday baking for today:

Him: You know what I had the other day at work that was awesome?
Me: What?
Him: A pumpkin cake thingy with cream cheese icing
Me: Like a pumpkin bar?
Him: Yeah, that’s it! You could make those sometime…you know…if you want.
Me: Oh, only if I want?
Him: Yeah, I think that’d be awesome.
Me: Okay, babe.

So, I made Eric his pumpkin bars this afternoon. I’ve said before that I was never a really big pumpkin fan. Or so I thought. The pumpkin cheese cake I made was excellent, and then oatmeal cookies with the pumpkin spice kisses, and now pumpkin bars! For someone who doesn’t care for pumpkin, I’m sure on a pumpkin kick lately! LOL! I guess I’ve officially crossed over. Hello, my name is Erin…and I like pumpkin. There, I admitted it!

I went back to my trusty Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. I’m really enjoying this book! I haven’t been disappointed with anything I have made from it! I love how it has all the classics…it’s quickly becoming my favorite cookbook!

These were super simple to put together. Very flavorful and moist. I liked this cream cheese frosting better then one I made last week for my blue velvet cupcakes…the consistency was creamier. It makes a huge batch, so the majority of these babies will be traveling to work with me on Monday. I saved about a dozen bars for us. Mmmm…tastes like a little piece of spicy, fall heaven.

PUMPKIN BARS (Recipe Source: Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsps. baking powder
  • 2 tsps. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 4 beaten eggs
  • 1 15-ounce can pumpkin
  • 1 cup oil
  • Cream cheese frosting (recipe follows)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In a large bowl stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and cloves. Stir in the eggs, pumpkin and oil until combined. Spread in an ungreased 15x10x1 inch baking pan.
  2. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 25 to 30 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted near the centere comes out clean. Cool for 2 hours on a wire rack. Spread with cream cheese frosting. Cut into bars.

CREAM CHEESE FROSTING:

  • 4 oz. cream cheese, softened (I used 1/3 less fat…I usually do.)
  • 1/4 cup (half a stick) of butter, softened.
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 – 3 1/2 cups sifted powdered sugar.

Beat cream cheese butter and vanilla with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Gradually add 2 cups of the powdered sugar, beating well. Gradually beat in additional powdered sugar to reach spreading consistency. Spread evenly on cooled bars.

ENJOY! 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under bars

4 responses to ““You know…if you want…”

  1. These look wonderful! I love anything with cream cheese frosting. The Better Homes & Gardens cookbook is a great one- and often underused, in my opinion!

  2. Those look great! I love pumpkin and that is an awesome cookbook. My dh does the same thing 🙂

  3. These looks delicious and so moist! I am on a pumpkin kick recently too! 🙂

  4. Richinlove

    Welcome to the pumpkin club. Pretty soon you’re going to need a 12-step program. 😉

Leave a Reply

