A childhood treat…college style.

When I lived in the dorms at U of I, this was one of my favorite lunchtime dessert treats. I decided to recreate it at home…just to see if they taste like they did in the ISR dining hall. Guess what, they do! Totally took me back. Chewy, gooey, cinnamon-y goodness. Who would have thought I’d want to relive my dorm dining hall days? You’d think that’d be something I’d want to forget all about. Ours really wasn’t that bad. This, right here, is the proof. They’d appear at noontime meal at least once a week. I could never pass up the opportunity to grab one before heading out back to campus for class! 🙂

It’s super simple…just a take on the classic Rice Krispie Treat. Just switch out the Rice Krispies for Cinnamon Toast Crunch and you’re done!

CINNAMON CRISPY SQUARES (Recipe inspiration: Kelloggs.com)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 4 cups mini marshmallows
  • 6 cups Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal

DIRECTIONS:

1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.

2. Add cereal. Stir until well coated.

3. Using buttered spatula or wax paper, evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray. Cool. Cut into 2-inch squares. Best if served the same day.

ENJOY! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under bars

5 responses to “A childhood treat…college style.

  1. Oh yum! These definitely would make me feel like a kid again! You’ve inspired me-I think I may sub the cinnamon crunch for the fiber one caramel delight cereal to make them a bit healthier. Yeah! I’m definitely trying these soon!

  2. Richinlove

    I am done for if I try this treat. I already love rice krispies but now you’re making it with my favorite sugary cereal. oh man….

  3. Pingback: A Yankee Girl Heads South « Milk & Honey

  4. I just tried these last night and there were fantastic!! I’m posting the recipe and link back to your blog on my blog tomorrow. Thank you for sharing and wanted to be sure to let you know that I fully credited you for this recipe. Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Roasted Roots « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

