Look at me…

I’m Sandra Lee!

Uh oh.

That’s not good, is it??

I’m really not a fan of hers. At all. It’s not the whole “Semi-Homemade” thing I’m adverse to…mostly it’s just her. Not my style.  I don’t care for her, but I do respect her. She’s come a long way in her life and for that she deserves some major props.

So Eric has asked me a couple times to make Focaccia bread. I looked around at some recipes and it appears to be pretty labor intensive. I just don’t have the time to devote to the kitchen anymore now that I’m back to work…as much as I wish I did! When I spotted this shortcut in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, it seemed like the perfect solution! It just made me laugh because as I was making it, none other than Sandra Lee herself was on the Food Network in the background. This recipe would do her proud!

I made this bread as a side to a pasta dish that ended up a total flop. Something went terribly, horribly wrong. I blame myself, not the recipe. It was so bad, I’m not even going to say anymore about it! Good thing I didn’t buy anything special to make it! Needless to say, we ended up with pasta with jarred sauce and this surprisingly yummy bread on the side.

EASY HERB FOCACCIA (Recipe Source: Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 16 oz. package hot roll mix (I used Pilsbury brand)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2/3 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Lightly grease one 15 x 10 x1-inch baking pan, one 12 to 14-inch pizza pan, or two 9 x 1.5-inch round baking pans. Set aside. (I used the two round pans)
  2. Prepare the hot roll mix according to package directions for basic dough, using the 1 egg and substituting the 2 tablespoons of olive oil for the margarine. Knead dough; allow to rest as directed. If using large baking pan, roll dough into 15×10 inch rectangle; carefully transfer to prepared pan. If using a pizza pan, roll dough into a 12 inch circle. For round baking pans, divide dough in half; roll into two 9 inch circles. Place in prepared pan(s).
  3. In a medium skillet cook onion and rosemary in 2 teaspoons of olive oil. With your fingertips, press indentation every inch or so in dough. Top dough evenly with onion mixture. Cover; let rise in a warm place until nearly double (about 30 minutes).
  4. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden. Cool 10 minutes on a wire rack. Remove from pan and cool completely.

ENJOY! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under bread

2 responses to “Look at me…

  1. Oooh, that bread looks so delicious!!

  2. Pingback: Trick or Cupcake Treats! « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

