Use your Nog(gin)

If there’s one holiday tradition you probably wouldn’t see me enjoying, it’d be eggnog. I remember trying a taste of some at a friend’s house when I was like 11 and that was it for me. Way too thick and creamy. That was 15 years ago and up until now, I had absolutely no desire to give it another try.

But then I got to thinking…just because I don’t want to drink it from the carton, doesn’t necessarily mean I wouldn’t like it another way. You won’t find me eating cream cheese right out of the package on a bagel either, but you will for sure find me using it to bake up something fabulous. Maybe I should give eggnog another chance this year…

I spotted a recipe for an eggnog muffin in my December issue of Midwest Living and just had to give it a try. Now, let me stray off topic here for a second and say that I big pink puffy heart this magazine. It’s full of all sorts of Midwestern hidden treasures – places to visit, ideas to try, recipes to make. I just love it! The Midwest has so much to offer all year round, it’s no wonder I can’t imagine living anywhere else. It is truly the perfect place to call home! 🙂

Enough bragging on my home turf – back to the recipe!

I nearly panicked when I poured the eggnog out of the carton, because honestly, just looking at it, I thought – there’s no way I’m going to be able to handle this! But I’d committed to making the muffins, so making them was what I was going to do. Now, you will notice that the recipe calls for mixing melted butter with two eggs, the eggnog and the extracts. The first time around, I didn’t let the butter cool long enough and I cooked my eggs when I added them to the butter. Oopsies… So I had start over. The second time, I let the butter cool for 15 minutes AND put it in the fridge for 5 minutes and it was much better.

You will also notice in my photo that the topping looks a little sparse. That’s probably because I tried to cut the butter into the flour/sugar mixture with a couple knives (I don’t have a pastry blender…need to put that on my list!) and I gave up way before I had the right consistency, so it just kind of disappeared on top. Still tasted good though! 🙂

I was pleasantly surprised by the results, especially after the initial scare of actual watching the eggnog come out of the carton for the first time. LOL. I found the muffins to be very moist and quite rich, but not overly sweet. Just one is more than enough. I think they’d be dynamite with the addition of a bit of cinnamon to warm up the flavor a bit and maybe some chopped pecans for crunch and texture. These would be great at a holiday brunch along side something savory like a breakfast casserole and fresh fruit. Yum!

EGGNOG MUFFINS WITH NUTMEG -STREUSEL TOPPING (Recipe Source: Midwest Living)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup dairy eggnog
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. rum extract
  • Nutmeg-Streusel Topping (recipe below)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Grease twelve 2-1/2-inch muffin cups or line with paper bake cups; set aside. In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and nutmeg. Make a well in center of flour mixture; set aside.

2. In another bowl, combine eggs, eggnog, melted butter, vanilla and rum extract. Add egg mixture all at once to the flour mixture. Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy.) Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each two-thirds full. Sprinkle streusel topping over muffin batter in cups.

3. Bake in a 375 degree F oven for 18 to 20 minutes or until golden and a wooden toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in muffin cups on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Remove from muffin cups; serve warm. Makes 12 muffins.

4. Nutmeg-Streusel Topping: In small bowl, mix 1/3 cup all-purpose flour, 1/3 cup sugar and 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg using pastry blender. Cut in 2 tablespoons butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

ENJOY! 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under muffins

6 responses to “Use your Nog(gin)

  1. I’m so glad I saw this in your blog b/c my DH is obsessed w/ eggnog. I’ll have to surprise him with these.

  2. I have some eggnod that my father-in-law left, I am thinking I should use it to make these.

  3. joelen

    Oooh! I love eggnog, especially in my latte… but never thought of using it for muffins! What a fab idea for the holidays 🙂

  4. WOW! Those look insanely delicious!

  5. These sound incredible! I think I’ll just have to make these gluten-free for myself :D! Delicious ingredients, yum!

  6. Erin

    I have never seen eggnog muffins before but they look great! They would be perfect for brunch around Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

