Welcome to the Family!

Say hello to my new friend! TA-DA!!

Yesterday, I welcomed to my humble kitchen family a brand new KitchenAid 12-cup food processor! YEAH!! I got some gift cards for Christmas and with those, plus the 20% off Bed, Bath and Beyond coupon (LOVE it!) and a $20 manufactuer’s rebate, this little gem became mine for…well, let’s just say a very affordable price. Woot!

You know, a kitchen is a lot like a garage. In order to be successful and enjoy your work, you need to have the right tools. Think about it…would you jump at the chance to mow your lawn if you had an ancient manual push mower that didn’t even have a motor on it? No. It would be a dreaded chore. On the other hand, if you have a spiffy new John Deere zero-turn ride on mower (which we also added to our arsenal recenlty, LOL.), it will still be something you have to do but suddenly it doesn’t seem so bad….because you have the right equipment! That’s what cooking is like – you have to do it because you gotta eat. Sometimes it’s not something you really want to do, but when you have the right things around to get the job done quick, it’s a lot easier to get motivated!

When Eric and I moved in together I had a couple of ratty pots and pans I confiscated from my college apartment, like one baking sheet and maybe a plastic spoon and spatuala. That was it. Did I do a ton of cooking back then? Nope. I couldn’t get anything accomplished so I just didn’t do it. In fact, I dreaded it. Then we got married and I had a boatload of new tools to use. All of a sudden, cooking didn’t seem so bad. And now, adding to my kitchen empire in an effort to be even more successful really gets me excited. Yay for new toys!!

I took my new KA for a spin (pun intended) right away and made a delish sun-dried tomato pesto sauce from Giada. I’ve been eying it forever, but didn’t feel like dealing with doing it in batches in my mini. It was the perfect thing to break in the food processor! Soooo good. What a fresh, yummy alternative to marinara sauce. Good thing Eric likes things like this because it’s got two cloves of garlic in it and it’s basically raw…you don’t really cook pesto. If we both eat it, then no one notices. LOL.

Ready for it’s go round:

Fast forward about 5 seconds and you get……

PENNE WITH SUN-DRIED TOMATO PESTO (Recipe Source: Foodnetwork.com – Giada De Laurentis)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 12 ounces penne pasta
  • 1 (8.5-ounce) jar sun-dried tomatoes packed in olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup (packed) fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cook the pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 minutes. Drain, reserving 1 cup of the cooking liquid.
  2. Meanwhile, blend the sun-dried tomatoes and their oil, garlic, salt and pepper, to taste, and basil in a food processor and blend until the tomatoes are finely chopped. Transfer the tomato mixture to a large bowl. Stir in the Parmesan.
  3. Add the pasta to the pesto and toss to coat, adding enough reserved cooking liquid to moisten. Season the pasta, to taste, with salt and pepper and serve.

ENJOY! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under pasta, sauces

5 responses to “Welcome to the Family!

  1. fingers80

    Haha, I love your analogy. Having the right things in the kitchen is totally just like tools in the garage! I’ll have to save that one for some time when my husband doesn’t understand my need for another kitchen gadget, lol. The pesto sauce looks great!

  2. I love trying out various pestos. This one looks like a winner. And I love all my kitchen tools/gadgets too.

  3. joelen

    That pesto looks wonderful and I need to get myself a food processor soon!

  4. YAY for the new toy and that looks so delicious!!

  5. Pingback: Belly Up To the Bar. « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

