This Little Piggy Went to the Market…

As of late, I’ve been really trying to save us some coin by really pouring over the grocery ads and making multiple stops at different stores to get the best deal on different items. Not sure if it’s worth it given all the extra gas that’s blown driving all over town but…..it makes me feel better, so I’m going to keep doing it. LOL.

In addition to saving us money, doing this also gives me the opportunity to branch out and try things I haven’t tried before. I’ve discovered that my ad browsing has really expanded my meat choices. There are cuts that I usually just don’t even bother with because they are too pricey, but I’ve found you can find good deals on those pricey cuts…you just have to know where to look and when. I always seemed to be in the wrong place at the wrong time and rarely caught the best deals. Takes a bit more work to get it right…but it’s been well worth it so far!

One of those pricey cuts that I usually just passed on was pork tenderloin. I couldn’t justify the cost for what you get….even though I really do like it. It’s so lean and tender…it would call to me in the store…”buy me, please! you know you want to!” I would stand there and contemplate purchasing one but the $7, $8, $9 price tag would always put me off. Last week I FINALLY found a great price on tenderloins so I snatched one up.

I broke out my new Ellie Kreiger cookbook for inspiration on how to cook my piggy goodness. I was looking to do something other than roast it, as I was afraid I would dry it out. Inside is a recipe for pork medallions with cherry sauce. Sounded yummy!  I loved the idea of cutting it into medallions and cooking it in a skillet on the stove top. And what’s better than deglazing up all those browned bits and making a delicious pan sauce? I’m going to go with NOTHING. Mmmm Mmmmm Good!

I had to make some modifications based on what I had in the house, as there was no way I was venturing out on Saturday with the way the wind was whipping around the snow. It’s funny because it wasn’t ACTUALLY snowing, it was just old snow blowing around. And, man, was it blowing. At one point, we couldn’t even see our neighbor’s house across the street, there was so much snow in the air. This morning the drift in front of our garage door was waist high. Craz-i-ness. Argh!

This recipe comes together super quick and it’s on the table in no time. I swapped out the dried cherries for dried cranberries, and subbed red wine for balsamic vinegar (now that, I thought I had….guess not! HA! But I always have wine and that’s great for pan sauces like this!) The results were so so so good. So flavorful and tender…just a hint of sweetness and tartness from the cranberries. It was a wonderful combo. I can’t wait to find pork tenderloin on sale again so I can whip this up for a second time. YUM!

PORK MEDALLIONS IN A CRANBERRY WINE SAUCE (Recipe Inspired by and Adapted from: Ellie Kreiger, The Food You Crave)

INGREDIENTS:

  • One 1 and one quarter pound pork tenderloin, trimmed of visible fat and sliced into 1/2 inch
  • Salt
  • Freshly cracked black pepper
  • 3 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped shallots
  • 3/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup dry red wine
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries

DIRECTIONS

  1. Season the pork with salt and pepper. Heat 2 teaspoons of the oil in a lare skillet over medium high heat. Cook the meat until desired doneness (3 to 5 minutes per side). Transfer the meat to a plate and tent with foil to keep warm.
  2. Add remaining oil and shallots to the pan, cooking and stiring until softened (about 2 minutes). Add the broth, wine, 1/4 tsp. of salt, and the cranberries and cook until the liquid has reduced by half, 4 to 5 minutes. Season with additional salt and pepper if desired, pour sauce over medallions and serve.

ENJOY! 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under fruit, pork

4 responses to “This Little Piggy Went to the Market…

  1. Laura

    wow this looks amazing! : )

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever cut a cooked a pork tenderloin quite this way. I bet the cranberries were amazing with it. Yum!!

  3. This is definitely something I would love to make. I love Ellie’s recipes and she makes healthy eating delicious!

  4. Pingback: The Great Imitation Oreo Chase « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

