Holy Freakin’ Deliciousness, Batman!

Taste buds…Prepare to be Delighted! POW! ZAP! ZWAP! MMMM! YUM!

Hee hee….old school Batman is funny.

Okay, moving on…

Seriously this is the most delicious soup I’ve ever had. Ever. I’m not kidding. Go make this. Now. What are you waiting for??? Hurry, hurry! I promise you will not be disappointed. This is a soup loaded with garden fresh ingredients, and the texture is ultra smooth and creamy. But since there’s not a drop of cream anywhere in this recipe, you can feel good about eating it. It’s spicy and sweet and super flavorful. Wow. Just wow. I don’t know what else to say except that it is insanely delicious.

I went to work making this after lunch (had the day off today) and when it was ready, I sat down and practically had me a second lunch. I literally had to tear myself away. Must.Stop.Eating. I can’t wait to chow down on this for lunch all this week.

SWEET AND SPICY PEANUT SOUP (Recipe Source: The Food You Crave by Ellie Krieger)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tbs. canola oil
  • 1 large onion, diced (about 2 cups)
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, seeded and diced (about 1 cup)
  • 2 medium carrots, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. peeled and grated fresh ginger
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cubed (about 2 cups)
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth (I used chicken broth)
  • One 14.5 oz can no-salt added diced tomatoes, with their juice (I couldn’t find no-salt added and opted for regular here)
  • 2/3 cup creamy natural peanut butter
  • 2 tsps. honey
  • chopped scallions for sprinkling

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Heat oil in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, bell pepper, and carrots and cook, sitrring until the vegetables soften, about 5 minutes. Add the cayenne, black pepper, garlic and ginger and cook for 1 minute more. Stir in the sweet potato, broth, and tomatoes and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer until the potatoes are tender, about 20 minutes.
  2. Puree the soup in the pot using an immersion blender or in a regular blender in two batches (I used a regular blender) and return to the pot. Add the peanut butter and honey and stir, over low heat, until the peanut butter melts. Serve warm, garnished with scallions.

ENJOY! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under soup, veggies

7 responses to “Holy Freakin’ Deliciousness, Batman!

  1. I need to get Ellie’s cookbook because a lot of the recipes really appeal to me! This looks delicious and that color is so rich!

  2. d

    This is a traditional West African recipe. In the southern coastal regions of Ghana it is called nkatenkwan and is prepared with palm oil and sometimes goat or chicken meat. It is eaten with pounded yam fufu or fermented banku.

    Further north in Mali and Senegal it is known as mafe and is eaten with rice. In Mali, sometimes sweet potatoes and corn are added and less ginger and hot pepper is used.

  3. Kimmee

    that looks so delicious! i can’t wait to make this! i have your blog bookmarked on my computer at work, but I couldn’t find it when I searched for you on the nest to make one of your recipes last weekend. :o( I just emailed this link to myself so I can bookmark your site on my home computer, too! keep up the delicious blogs!!!

  4. Kimmee

    I couldn’t even wait- I made this for dinner last night, and you’re right, it was insanely delicious!

  5. Beautiful photo and deliciuos dish!

  6. Pingback: Sweet and Spicy Peanut Soup « EASY AS PIE!

  7. Pingback: The Great Imitation Oreo Chase « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

