Let’s go to the Hop!

Have you ever seen the movie American Graffiti? No? Okay, I’ll just a wait a second while you go add it to your Netflix queue. Now please. Thanks.

::whistles and twiddles thumbs:: Got in there? GREAT!

This is one of my favorite movies! Personally recommended to me a few years ago by my dad, who never steers me wrong when it comes to movie recs. If he says he thinks I’ll like it, I do! American Graffiti is no exception. So the basic gist of the movie is four friends go out on the town for one last hurrah before college. They drive around, not necessarily with each other. That’s pretty much it. Okay, so that’s not it, but it’s all I’m going to say without giving too much away. It’s got a ton of big stars in it (when they were young) Richard Dreyfuss, Ron Howard, Harrison Ford, Suzanne Somers. Seriously, if you haven’t seen it, you should. It was nominated for Best Picture!!

So what does any of this have to do food, you ask? Well, the movie begins and ends in parking lot of Mel’s Drive In…A quintessential cultural icon of a days gone by. I always thought it would be fun to be a car hop girl….with the roller skates and all. They just opened a Sonic here in town…..a new career in my future perhaps? Heh.

Well, I’m probably not going to be a roller skating car hop, but I can bring a little bit of drive-in fun to my kitchen. My Soda Shop Cupcakes are a delicious chocolate cake, smothered in swirls of malted milk buttercream, dotted with sprinkles and topped with a cherry. And two straws, of course….so you can share with your steady before the sock hop. He sure is dreamy…..

Put on your poodle skirts, your saddles shoes, cue up your 45’s and ENJOY! πŸ™‚

SODA SHOP CUPCAKES (Recipe Sources – Cake from Hershey’s, Frosting Adapted from Allrecipes.com)

CAKE:

  • Click here for cake recipe. I made the Hershey’s “Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Cake and halved the recipe. I got 12 good sized cakes. You can use any chocolate cake you like. Even a box!

FROSTING:

  • 1 /2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temp.
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup malted milk powder (not malt drink mix, just the regular powder)
  • 6 to 8 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tsps. vanilla extract

Cream butter in a mixer until very light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Meanwhile, sift together powdered sugar and malted milk powder. Add to butter and mix until combined. Mix in vanilla. Add milk, a tablespoon at a time until you get the right consistancy for piping.

ENJOY! πŸ™‚

15 Comments

Filed under chocolate, cupcakes

15 responses to “Let’s go to the Hop!

  1. TOO FREAKIN’ CUTE!!!

    You did an awesome job. I bet they taste even better!

  2. oneparticularkitchen

    How adorable!! I love them!

  3. Jessica

    They are adorable!

  4. Amy

    I MUST make these. Thanks for a great recipe!

  5. joelen

    What a great recipe and I love the presentation!

  6. Adorable!! And I’ll bet they taste amazing, too!

  7. I love them – they are so flippin’ cute! My husband just watched American Grafitti over the weekend!

  8. Erin

    There are so cute!

  9. Kimmee

    where do you find malted milk powder in the grocery store? near they soy milk? sugar? i’m baffled! these look SO ADORABLE!

    • themilkmanswife

      Kimmee – I found the malt powder in the aisle with all the ice cream supplies, by the cones and jarred hot fudge, etc. It’s Nestle/Carnation brand. πŸ™‚

  10. Those are too cute! Great job. I love the Song “At the Hop”, I sang it in Chorus in 4th grade… good times!

  11. What an adorable idea! I just love these!

  12. Pingback: I’m (Not) Lovin’ It. « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

