Summer is finally here!

A mere week and half, two weeks ago I was wondering where the heck summer was. It was rainy, and cloudy, and COLD. Highs in the low 60s. In June. Okay, that’s just not even right!

Well, summer FINALLY decided to show up for work. Nice to see you again, Summer…so glad you could join us. We’ve been WAITING. Two weeks ago it was way too cold. Today, I may or may not have let it slip that I thought it was too hot. There’s no pleasing me when it comes to weather, I tell you what. However, in my defense, our air conditioner was out and I spent a hot, sticky night in bed with a husband who has a tendency to flop around and crowd me. A good night sleep was not meant to be.  Thankfully, we’re back up and running here this afternoon. Good thing too, because 90 degrees outside + well over 80 degrees inside = A very crabby and mean Erin.

I knew my AC wasn’t working yesterday afternoon. I KNEW turning on the oven would just cause the heat and crabbiness in the house to rise. Did it stop me? Um, no. When you wanna bake, you wanna bake. Think a little summer heat and humidity is going to stop me?

Aw, raspberries!

Yes, raspberries! And peaches! Together in delightful mini-loaves of moist and tender quick bread. The idea came to me after seeing a recipe for peach melba – which is peaches smothered in raspberry sauce and served with vanilla ice cream. Berries are all over the sale circulars from the grocery stores these days. Gotta snatch ’em up before they go back to $4 a pint. Since I just did the brownie pudding with ice cream and raspberry sauce, I was looking for something a little different.

These cute little loaves go together in minutes and bake up delicious. I used my favorite muffin recipe as the base for the loaves but swapped out milk for low fat buttermilk and added about a teaspoon of fresh lemon zest. I didn’t do the streusel topping so the next time I make these I’ll add a little something extra to warm up the flavors a bit – a 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon and a 1 tsp. of vanilla. I’ve noted that in the recipe below. They are delish as is, juicy and fruity, but I think those two added ingredients will really push them over the top. I left one out for us to enjoy and wrapped up the others and put them in the freezer for later. Make these with your favorite summer fruits!

One year ago this week:

RASPBERRY PEACH MINI-LOAVES (Recipe adapted from: Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook)

Makes 3 mini loaves

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup diced fresh peaches (about three smallish/medium peaches)
  • 1 pint fresh raspberries (I cut the larger berries in half)
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup, plus 1 tbs. sugar, divided
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. fresh lemon zest
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Grease three mini loaf pans; set aside
  2. Toss peaches and raspberries with the one tablespoon of sugar. Place in a sieve over a small bowl and let juices drain.
  3. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and lemon zest. Make a well in center of flour mixture, set aside.
  4. In another bowl combine egg, milk, oil and vanilla. Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir until just moistened (batter should be lumpy). Fold in peaches and raspberries.
  5. Spoon batter into prepared pans and place pans on a cookie sheet. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 35 to 40 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in centers comes clean. Cool for 5 minutes. Remove from pans and let cool completely before slicing.

ENJOY! 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under bread, fruit

8 responses to “Summer is finally here!

  1. thecynicalchef

    Those look so moist and so good. Must try soon.

  2. Ew on the no AC. This sudden summer weather sucks! We were in the new house for a bit tonight for the inspection and the air isn’t on yet and it was so hot!
    Those look so incredibly good though!

  3. The colors in this bread are gorgeous, and I’m sure it tastes divine too.
    It’s been really hot and steamy here but I don’t want to turn on the AC because it smells funny.

  4. Those look sooooooooooo delicious! I need some of that now! yum yum yum!

  5. Looks great!
    I nominated you for a blog award- head over to my blog to receive it!

  6. Brianna & Dustin

    I somehow missed this when you first posted it … anyway, I can’t wait to try these this week! I have 3 little silicone loaf pans that I’ve never used before and some nectarines that need to be used up (I figured they’d work just as well as peaches). Thanks!!

  7. Caitlin

    I made your peach and raspberry bread last night and it is amazing! Even my husband like it and he doesn’t care for peaches or raspberries. Go figure. I love how beautiful these little loaves turned out. They would make very nice gifts. Thanks so much for the recipe!!

  8. Pingback: Kitchen Therapy | Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

