All Natural Easiness!

I found a recipe for a lemon sandwich cookie that I was really eager to try. When I saw the filling called for lemon curd, I considered just buying a jar and calling it good.

The thing is, I’m really trying to move away from “just buying a jar/box/bag/bottle”, etc. etc. I feel so much better about eating anything (even if it’s a sweet treat) when it’s made with all-natural, real food. The reality of it is, I’m not going to give up my sweet treats. I can’t. I’m addicted and it’s a sickness and we preferred not to be judged harshly, thank you very much. 🙂 The very least I can do is stay away from processed,  hydrogenated, high-fructose corn syrup laden, store bought foods.

So off I went to make my own lemon curd. Holy Easiness, Batman! It literally took 15 minutes to put together. Really, there is no excuse to EVER buy it. Creamy, tangy and totally delicious…ready to add to cakes, cheesecakes, and cookies everywhere. Or to just eat straight out of a bowl with a spoon. YUM.

HOMEMADE LEMON CURD (Recipe Source: JoyOfBaking.com)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (about 2 to 3 lemons)
  • 1 tablespoon of finely shredded lemon zest
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 4 tablespoon unsalted butter at room temperature, cut into small pieces

DIRECTIONS:

In a stainless steel bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water, whisk together the eggs, sugar, and lemon juice until blended. Cook, stirring constantly (to prevent it from curdling), until the mixture becomes thick (like sour cream or a hollandaise sauce) (160 degrees F or 71 degrees C). This will take approximately 10 minutes. Remove from heat and immediately pour through a fine strainer to remove any lumps. Cut the butter into small pieces and whisk into the mixture until the butter has melted. Add the lemon zest and let cool. The lemon curd will continue to thicken as it cools. Cover immediately (so a skin doesn’t form) and refrigerate for up to a week.

ENJOY! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under fruit, sauces

2 responses to “All Natural Easiness!

  1. Pingback: Things Aren’t Always What They Seem… « Milk & Honey

  2. This is such a great recipe – I love it!!

Leave a Reply

