Mighty Fine Blueberry Pickin’

When I got an  email from my mother-in-law last week before we headed to Eric’s hometown for the 4th asking if I wanted to go blueberry picking, I very quickly and eagerly responded YES! How great! I’ve never picked ANYTHING. Well, maybe my nose on occasion when I was a kid, not something I’m proud of, but hey, what are ya gonna do? LOL.

Anyway, I was SO excited to pick blueberries, I can’t even tell you!

Then, the unthinkable. Plans = derailed. NOOO! We planned to leave for our long weekend in southern Illinois on Thursday but Eric didn’t get home from work until WAY later than expected. It’s a pretty long drive, and we’re pretty much old geezers these days and the thought of getting to our destination after midnight just wasn’t sitting right. We had to put off the drive until the next morning.

I pouted. I told Eric I didn’t think we’d get to go blueberry picking after all, since we’d be traveling most of the day. He was already a bit annoyed that we had to put off our trip but seeing my poor sad eyes and trembling bottom lip really pushed him over the edge. Poor guy. He looked so sad that I was sad. My pain over not getting to pick blueberries became his pain. That’s love, people.

He was bound and determined. You’ll get your blueberries, he said in a classic Scarlett O’Hara fist pumping at the sky moment. As God is my witness, you’ll get your blueberries!

His solution? Getting up at the butt crack of dawn and driving all morning and rolling into our destination (a good 7 hours from here) by noon so that we could go blueberry picking in the afternoon.

Ummmmmm. Hold up. Are blueberries worth getting up at 5 a.m. on a free day off work? Is ANYTHING worth that? Well, if you know my husband, you know that he is incredibly stubborn. Once he gets an idea in his head, there is no changing his mind. He had it in his head that we’d get up at 5 a.m. so I could get my blueberries. So that’s what we did. Okay, game on.

So off we went. Free and easy down the road we go. Good thing Eric is a morning person because I don’t think I made it half way down the driveway before I promptly fell asleep again. I had a nice long nappy-nap in the car and was ready to pick blueberries when we arrived. YAY!

My MIL drove us out into the country to an Amish farm where we both picked gallon buckets full of ripe, juicy, delicious berries. Best part is, it’s really easy because the berries grow on bushes that are eye level, no stooping over and they are thorn free! It was great to be outside in the country, soaking up the summer sun and enjoying some quality time. I was worried about the giant bucket of blueberries turning into a giant berry clump in the freezer, but since they are not washed and wet, they actually freeze like little marbles. Just scoop out what you need, thaw in cool water and your ready to go!

Of course I had to make something the minute we got home. Duh. Had to hit up the grocery store for the week first though. The strawberries looked (and smelled!) especially delicious this week so I picked up a pint and decided to make a Starwberry Blueberry Buckle!

Why is it called buckle? I have no idea either. I just call it awesome. It’s a super easy cake recipe loaded with fruit and topped with streusel topping. Goes together quickly and is just bursting with fruity, juicy, delicious goodness. Top with ice cream and you’ve got a great summer dessert!

Now, I found this recipe a couple months ago in a collection of clippings my mom keeps in an old yellow recipe box in her kitchen cabinet. One of those old, wrinkled magazine clippings from days gone by, so I’m not exactly sure where this orginally came from. I apologize for that. I just went ahead and contributed it to my wonderful mother. Once a recipe has been clipped for 15 years plus, it becomes property of the clipper, don’t you think? Sounds good to me! :-p

One year ago: Okay, I’m having a bit of trouble keeping up with what was going on a year ago. A year ago I was out of work and living the life of a lady of leisure and therefore was in the kitchen a lot more. LOL. So ABOUT a year ago OR SO, we feasted on the following:
Asian Inspired Macaroni Salad with Chopped Cashews– perfect for summer cookouts!
Chicken Enchiladas – this is my FAVE enchilada recipe. The sauce is sooo good!
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Ice Cream – yup, it’s as good as it sounds!

STRAWBERRY BLUEBERRY BUCKLE (Recipe Source: My mom)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • ¼ cup (1/2 stick) butter
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsps. Grated lemon rind
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup coarsely chopped toasted almonds
  • ¼ cup milk (I used buttermilk – had some on hand that needed to be used up. You could go either way.)
  • 1 ¼ cups sliced fresh or frozen strawberries, thawed and drained
  • 1 ¼ cups fresh or frozen blueberries, thawed and drained

Topping:

  • ½ cup sifted all purpose flour
  • ¼ cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • ¼ cup (1/2 stick) butter

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 375. Grease 8×8 in. baking pan
  2. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt onto wax paper.
  3. Beat together butter and sugar in a large bowl with electric mixer at high speed until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Beat in egg, lemon rind and juice. Stir in nuts, then milk. Stir in dry ingredients, then berries. Spread into prepared pan.
  4. Prepare streusel topping: Mix together flour and brown sugar in a small bowl. Cut in butter with pastry blender until mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle the streusel in an even layer over batter.
  5. Bake for 40 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean and cake begins to pull away from sides. Cool on wire rack.
  6. Cut in large squares, serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

ENJOY! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under cakes, fruit

7 responses to “Mighty Fine Blueberry Pickin’

  1. This looks amazing! I love strawberries, blueberries and fruity desserts. Great combo!

  2. I went blueberry picking every summer of my childhood and I’m pretty sure it IS worth getting up at 5 AM if it means you’ll have pounds of blueberries in your freezer for the entire year! That was and is my absolute favorite snack…and they just taste so much better if you pick them yourself!

    The buckle looks delicious!

  3. That looks like Potluck Perfection! 😉

  4. Brianna & Dustin

    Now THAT looks fabulous. I’ve never been blueberry picking (or any kind of berry picking for that matter), but it’s on my list of things to do!!

  5. Pingback: Anatomy of Summer « Milk & Honey

  6. Pingback: Anatomy of Summer « Milk & Honey

  7. Pingback: A Test of Wills | Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

