Morning Brain

I am NOT a morning person. My husband, aka Perpetual Chipper Morning Guy, can attest to this. He gets up a few minutes before me and usually comes back into our room to get dressed right about the time I need to be getting my cranky butt out of bed and head for the showers.

“Erin, time to wakey!” He says cheerfully every morning.

“Groan, grumble, whine,” I answer always answer back. “I don’t wanna!”

I’ll tell you what it is that bothers me the most. It’s that stupid alarm clock. How can such a small, little black box emit such an ear-piercing, annoying squawk? That beeping is downright obnoxious. Who wants to wake up that way? How about waking up to a kiss of sunshine peeking in from behind the blinds and the gentle, soft chirping of birds outside? Nope. No such luck. We get a loud, screeching beep before the break of daylight. That’s just going against nature! I really don’t think we should have these alarm clocks messing with our bodies internal sleep clocks. Really, there could be health consequences here, don’t you think?

I’d like to lobby for an official ban to all alarm clock beeping. I’ll be writing my Congressman later on this evening.

Oh, let’s just be honest…I just don’t like it telling me what to do all the time. I’ll get up when I feel like it, Alarm Clock! LAY OFF ME!

I just don’t have it together in the morning. My brain is in a fog of crabbiness and grouchiness. It’s Morning Brain. On a particularly difficult morning, a smudge of mascara on my cheek has been known to send me into full out meltdown mode. Tears and everything.

“None of this would have happened if I didn’t have to get up so early!” I whine, blubbering and snotty.

I’m not a night owl, either. I don’t stay up too late the night before and make mornings difficult for myself. They are plenty difficult on their own. Really, I’m a day person. If you want me at my cheerful, productive best, find me between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. Before 9 is too early and after 7, it’s too late and I’m ready to call it a day.

So, considering mornings are not my favorite time of day, it’s pretty much gauranteed there’s not much going on in my kitchen in terms of breakfast. Cereal. Yogurt. That’s about it. I never get real ambitious with it and do mounds of scrambled eggs, fluffy pancakes or waffles, and piles of bacon or sausage–even on the weekends. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever made those things for breakfast!

That’s not to say I don’t WANT those things once in a while. Sometimes I wake up on a Sunday morning (after blissfully sleeping sans alarm) and think – Wow, sure wish someone would make me some waffles. Anyone? Bueller?

When I look around and realize there’s no one around to make the waffles except for me, I always change my tune. Well, a bowl of cereal is sort of like a waffle. I mean, it’s close enough. πŸ˜‰

When I saw this recipe for a crockpot breakfast cobbler this past week in my local paper, my interested was immediately piqued. You mean I put it in the crockpot the night before, it cooks while I sleep, and then in the morning I just drag myself over to the counter and I have warm, breakfast deliciousness to enjoy right away? Now, THAT is pure genius. Even the most foggy of morning brains can handle that! Why didn’t I think of this?

This recipe couldn’t be easier. Simply layer sliced apples in the slow cooker, add honey and spices, sprinkle on granola and wa-la! Done! It was great to wake up Saturday morning to the smell of delicious apples and cinnamon throughout the house. I added some additional spices (nutmeg and a pinch of cloves) but I still thought it could use a bit more. I’d up the cinnamon by half a teaspoon next time and keep the nutmeg and cloves. The granola adds a distinct oaty, breakfast taste to the dish. I used a store bought, but I’d LOVE to try a homemade. Of course, since it’s cooked in the slow cooker, you don’t get that crispy, crunchy top you’d get from a similar recipe that’s baked, so I added a bit more granola on top for some crunch. You could also add some toasted nuts – pecans or walnuts would be especially delicious, I think. I topped it off a dollop of fat-free vanilla yogurt and a little bit more cinnamon. If you are Greek yogurt fan, I bet that’d be great too – maybe with an additional drizzle of honey.

EASY APPLE BREAKFAST COBBLER (Recipe Adapted from: Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier, Wednesday, September 23, 2009)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 medium-sized apples (Cortland, Gala, Ida Red, Jonathan, Northern Spy or Rome), cored, peeled and sliced (I used Gala)
  • ΒΌ cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I’d add a half teaspoon more next time)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 tablespoon butter or trans fat-free margarine, melted
  • 2 cups low-fat granola cereal

DIRECTIONS:

Place apples in a crock pot and stir in honey and spices. Top apple mixture with granola and drizzle with butter. Cover and cook on low 7-9 hours or on high 2-3 hours. Serve warm and top with low fat milk or vanilla yogurt, if desired.

ENJOY! πŸ™‚

One Year Ago: Slow Cooker Sloppy Joes. Perfect for football weekends!

4 Comments

Filed under breakfast, fruit

4 responses to “Morning Brain

  1. That looks like it would be GREAT to wake up to!

    • oneparticularkitchen

      Ohhh you’re speakin’ my language, lady. I’m so making this!
      Also, it’s a big Erin party in here, isn’t it? πŸ™‚
      ~ Erin

  2. christine louise

    i love the idea of cobbler for breakfast! genius!

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. πŸ™‚ I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, πŸ™‚

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

