Decisions, Decisions

People are always asking me to make decisions. Not big, life altering, finger-on-the-button, pull-the-plug type decisions, of course. I have no say in what happens in the White House, for example. Just little annoying, everyday things.

What movie should we watch?
All heads turn in my direction.

Where should we go to eat?
Erin will chose for us.

Heads or tails?
Erin, you call it.

These types of decisions prove to be too much for me. Yep. I can’t handle it. These are the things that leave me baffled, have me throwing my hands up in despair and declaring WHY DO I ALWAYS HAVE TO PICK? I’m not hard to please – I have strong opinions on almost nothing – but yet for some reason everyone feels like I have to have the final say.

I guess what I’m saying is I am incredibly indecisive. It’s almost a problem it’s so bad. I simply cannot decide. Not only that, I don’t really want to decide. What if I say I want to go out for pizza and everyone else agrees even though they’d really rather have burgers? I’d feel bad. Plus, I’m not married to pizza. Burgers would be fine too. I just want everyone else to be happy, that’s all.

So, family, if you are reading this and we come to another crossroads here in the near future where we are trying to decide something, anything at all, the reason I don’t want to pick the final outcome is simply because in my daily life, I like to put others happiness and preferences before mine. There. That’s it. No arguments. I’ve decided I don’t like to be the one who decides. Glad we could come to an agreement. 🙂

Now that we are well into November here, a mere week and half from Thanksgiving, you are probably trying to decide what to put on your Turkey Day menus. Well, if you are anything like me,this task is probably killing you. Don’t panic! Here’s a recipe to make things a bit easier – at least as far as dessert goes.

With this moist, delicious, fall inspired cake you don’t have to choose between two fall favorites – apple and pumpkin – you can have both in one fabulous package. This Pumpkin-Apple Streusel Cake is like a cross between pumpkin pie and apple crisp. A moist and spicy pumpkin cake is topped with a delicious layer of cinnamon-spiked caramelized apples, then smothered in a crispy, crunchy streusel topping. Mmmm. Serve with cinnamon ice cream alongside and you’ve got the perfect fall dessert. These are simple, familiar flavors presented in an unexpected way. It’s really very delicious.

I didn’t deviate from the recipe too much here, but I did make a couple changes. I didn’t have pumpkin pie spice so I used my own combo of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves and allspice. I had a small pouch of pecan pieces left over from another recipe so I tossed those to the topping for some added texture and crunch – that’s a personal preference. It would be delicious without the nuts as well.

PUMPKIN-APPLE STREUSEL CAKE (Recipe Adapted from: Epicurious.com, Originally from Bon Appetit, October 2001)

INGREDIENTS:

Topping:

  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 4 cups diced peeled cored Granny Smith apples (about 4 large)
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup reserved cake mixture
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Cake:

  • 11/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup (firmly packed) golden brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces, room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup canned pure pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (or any combination of your favorite ‘warm’ spices)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 large eggs

DIRECTIONS:

For the Apple Topping:

  1. Melt butter in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add apples; cook until apples begin to brown, about 5 minutes. Add sugar and cinnamon and cook until golden brown, about 3 minutes longer. Set aside to cool.

For the cake:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter 9-inch-diameter springform pan. Combine flour, brown sugar, butter, and salt in the bowl of of an electric mixer. Beat until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Set aside 2/3 cup of mixture for topping. Beat pumpkin, sour cream, 2 tablespoons sugar, spices, and baking soda into remaining flour mixture, beating just until smooth. Beat in eggs. Spread batter in pan. Scatter apples evenly over top. Add pecans to reserved topping (if using) and mix to combine. Sprinkle topping over apples.
  2. Bake cake until topping is golden brown and tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 1 hour 10 minutes. Cool cake in pan on rack 20 minutes. Run knife around pan sides to loosen cake. Release pan sides from cake. Transfer cake to platter. (Can be made 6 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature.) Serve warm or at room temperature with ice cream.

ENJOY! 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under cakes, fruit

6 responses to “Decisions, Decisions

  1. I know what you mean about making decisions- the little ones are hard! This looks delicious- the best of both worlds!

  2. Oh, that looks soooooo delicious! And…. I totally hate picking too.

  3. Wow! That cake looks divine!

  4. I am always chosen as the decision maker – and sometimes I want to run screaming from the room.

    But it wouldn’t be difficult to choose a cake like that!

  5. Eric (Erin's Loving Husband)

    Where should we eat on Friday?????

    The cake was great. Tastes like Fall.

  6. Pingback: In defence of November « Milk & Honey

Leave a Reply

