Sweet! Potatoes!

I was one of those people who swore up and down they didn’t like sweet potatoes. Nope. No, thank you. Don’t want ’em, won’t eat ’em, PASS.

Boy, am I glad I gave them another chance here now that I’m a bit older. Turns out, I really, really like sweet potatoes! A lot! The problem was, I just didn’t like them loaded with sugar and oozing with melted marshmallows. Yuck. I don’t care for marshmallows on my dessert plate, let alone my DINNER plate. Blech. For some reason, it never occurred to me that maybe, just maybe, there’s other ways to prepare them. Ways that are bit more modern, a bit more sophisticated and every bit as delicious.

This is kind of  hybrid of a couple recipes. There were elements of both that I wanted to try, so I kind of just combined them into one tasty side dish. These smashed sweet potatoes get a flavor boost by being roasted in a hot over until fork tender. Then kicked up a notch with hint of sweetness from pure maple syrup and a hint of spiciness for chipotles in adobo before being smashed into a puree. We both enjoyed these a lot. Anytime I can get my husband to eat something that’s not the color of meat or bread, I call it a win.

Speaking of win, I’m proud to report that I knocked the 30 day NaNoWriMo challenge out of the park for the second year in a row! Crossed the 50k mark on Thanksgiving afternoon. Now, thank GOODNESS that’s over. I can get on with my life and back to my regular scheduled blogging. Whew!

Hi, I’m Tangent! Have we met?

Okay, back to the food. 🙂

MAPLE-CHIPOTLE SMASHED SWEET POTATOES (Recipe inspired by: These two recipes by Alton Brown and Claire Robinson

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 large sweet potato
  • Extra virgin olive oil, for drizzling
  • 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 of a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, very finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon adobo sauce from can
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • chopped parsley for garnish (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Peel and chop the sweet potato into one inch chunks and spread onto a cookie sheet in an even layer. Drizzle with olive oil and maple syrup. Toss to coat. Roast in oven, stirring occasionally until just fork tender, but not crisp; about 15 minutes.
  2. Place potatoes in a large bowl. Add butter, chipotle pepper, adobo sauce, salt and cinnamon. Smash with a potato masher or fork until combined. Garish with copped parsley and a bit of freshly ground black pepper, if desired.

Makes 2 to 3 servings.

ENJOY! 🙂

One Year Ago:
Texas Chili – this is my favorite chili recipe. YUM!
Rigatoni All’Amatriciana – Past in a bacon and onion sauce. Spicy and delicious!

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under sides, veggies

4 responses to “Sweet! Potatoes!

  1. LOVE the looks of this recipe, especially the fact that it’s not loaded down with too much refined sugar!

  2. I can’t believe you thought you didn’t like sweet potatoes?! I love them! And this looks like a delicious recipe to use them in!

  3. Oh YUM! I just started cooking with sweet potatoes this year and am always looking for new recipes to use them with – this looks great!

Leave a Reply

