Here Comes the Sun

Can you feel it? That prickly warm feeling, the stinging in your eyes? That’s the Sun. He’s back. Finally. After a long, cold, lonely winter (do do do do do…)

Oh, Sun how we’ve missed you! So very glad to have you back.

Now….Please don’t go. Oh, please, please don’t go.

You want to see me beg, Sun? Is that what you want? Because I am not above graveling.

We have had a string of warm days here in fabulous northeast Iowa and it has totally wet my whistle for all things summer.

Ooo! Hello, once-purple flip flops! Welcome to your tenth summer of wear!

Hello, t-shirts and tank tops I forgot I had! It’s like a whole new wardrobe!

I’m pretty good at tuning out the weatherman’s warnings too. “Unseasonably warm,” he says. Followed by, “cold front coming through,” “highs in the low 50s” and “rain.”

LA LA LA, I CAN’T HEAR YOU! Sorry, the sound of my flip flops slapping against my feet is drowning out all predictions of drearier weather ahead. 😉

Can I just tell you my favorite thing about these warm days? After sitting at work under a vent that blasts ice cold AC down the back of my neck for 8 hours (yes, it’s started already) there is absolutely NO better feeling than walking outside and getting into a hot car. NOTHING. So cozy and warm. So nice to have the feeling return to my fingers and toes. Thank you, Sun, for turning my dark car with dark interior into a toasty, little oven of heaven. 🙂

Anyway, with the warm weather, I’m starting to think about grilling. I haven’t yet started to think about dragging the grill out of the garage, giving it it’s yearly bath, refilling the propane tank, etc. etc. etc., but I’m thinking of grilled flavors. Luckily, I can get a taste of it without all the work by using my handy-dandy GRILL PAN!

These Orange-Ginger Shrimp Skewers are a great, bright way to usher in the warmer temps. The sweet and spicy kick from the marinade was so refreshing after a winter of heavy, rich foods. We really enjoyed the citrus flavors here and subbing in pineapple for the orange segments added a tropical feel to the dish. I ended up using ginger powder instead of fresh ginger because the piece of ginger I *thought* I had in the freezer was nowhere to be found! Must have gotten thrown out in clean out in the last few months. When I make this again, I’ll for sure use fresh. The flavor of fresh ginger is important to a dish like this.

Now, I do think the skewers would benefit from the a slower cook over indirect heat on the grill as the sugars in the dish burned a bit in the screaming hot grill pan. Or, it could just be my inability to control the heat on my finicky electric range. It runs at two temps…off and melt-your-face hot. I’ll be trying this recipe again on my outdoor grill once the season really gets rollin’ here!

ORANGE-GINGER SHRIMP SKEWERS (Recipe adapted from: Cooking Light via MyRecipes.com)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2  cup  fresh orange juice (about 2 oranges)
  • 2  tablespoons  minced green onions
  • 1  tablespoon  minced peeled fresh ginger (I used 1 teaspoon ginger powder)
  • 1  tablespoon  minced fresh cilantro (I omitted because I don’t care for it.)
  • 2  tablespoons  rice vinegar
  • 2  tablespoons  low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1  tablespoon  vegetable oil
  • 2  teaspoons  grated orange rind
  • 1  minced hot red chile (I subbed a jalapeno that I seeded and chopped. Hubs is not real big on spicy so I thought a jalapeno would be add a nice, tame heat in the background.)
  • 1  pound  large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 3/4 cup fresh pineapple chunks
  • Cooking spray

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine first 9 ingredients in a bowl. In a separate bowl, add shrimp and pour in half the marinade; tossing to coat. Cover and marinate in refrigerator 15 minutes. Reserve remaining marinade
  2. Remove shrimp from dish, discard shrimp marinade. Thread shrimp and pineapple chunks alternately onto each of 8 (8-inch) skewers.
  3. Heat large grill pan coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Cook skewers 4 minutes on each side or until done, basting with reserved marinade.

ENJOY!

One Year Ago:
Peanut Butter Banana Bread
– Includes chocolate! Hooray!
Italian Turkey Sausage and Spinach Stuffed Shells with Quick Kicked Up Tomato Sauce – That’s a mouthful! A mouthful of deliciousness!

2 Comments

Filed under fruit, shrimp

2 responses to “Here Comes the Sun

  1. Erin's Mom

    These look fantastic! I’m definitely going to give this recipe a try!!

  2. Pingback: Pineapple Shrimp Skewers « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

