Happy Birth-anni-blog-iversary-day! It’s a GIVEAWAY! – Closed

***The giveaway is closed as of 10:00 p.m., May 27, 2010***

Wow! There’s a lot worth celebrating ‘round these parts. First there’s the sunshine and warmer weather. That’s ALWAYS worth celebrating my book. Bye-bye snow and cold, hello flip flops and sundresses! FINALLY! I love these first few days of summer  – when the air gets warm but the breeze is still cool. When the Western sky glows pink and orange with sunset until past 9:00. Is it just me or does an ice cold beer or a glass of citrusy white wine just taste better when you’re sitting on the patio wearing a strappy dress with the sun on your shoulders? I’m thinking yes.

Next, there’s our wedding anniversary! Eric and I celebrated 4 great years of adventure and laughter on May 20. What a ride so far! He is truly my best friend and my soul mate. I’m pretty sure I’m the luckiest girl in the entire world. How I snagged such a catch, I’ll never know. But, man, do I ADORE that guy. Looking forward to many, many more. 😉

The day after that, my blog turned two! I have a toddler blog now. 😉 My very first entry on May 21, 2008 was for a Lemon Scented Blueberry cupcake – one of my hubby’s favorites – that I made him for, you guessed it, our anniversary!

In all honesty, when I started blogging, I wasn’t exactly in a great place. Saying I was in a slump is an understatement. It was blogging and writing and creating with food that helped pull me out of it. A million THANK YOUS for reading. Your support and thoughtful comments mean more to me than you’ll ever know. Blogging is part of what makes me happy and I’m so thrilled you let me share a bit of that happiness with you. Thank you so so much for hanging out with me here.

Along with turning two, my blog just passed the 200th post mark – which is exciting! Not all my posts contain recipes, but most do! There’s well over 150 tasty treats and good eats to read about here. That’s kind of impressive? Maybe? I mean, for a novice home cook, that is. 🙂

And if all that wasn’t enough, my birthday is next week! 28. Whoa. That is just inches from 30. I mean, it’s looming here. Can you believe it? Me neither!! Wasn’t it just last week I graduated high school? Sure feels like i!. Two weeks to day after mine, Eric hits 28 too. So many milestones, so little time!

With all this celebrating going on here, that means there has to be a gift or something in the works. Maybe some cake or something? Well, there is. The best part is – it’s not a gift for me, it’s a gift for YOU! All my wonderful readers! Welcome to the first ever GIVEAWAY here at Milk & Honey.

I have a little something for you. It’s kinda fun and I think you’ll like it.

What is it, what is it? Is the suspense killing you? Don’t let it do that, it’s not THAT exciting. LOL.

I’m giving away a copy of the latest bundle of cupcake cuteness courtesy of Karen Tack and Alan Richardson, the authors of Hello, Cupcake!

The book is called What’s New, Cupcake and it’s packed to the brim with more super-cute cupcake decorating ideas.

In case you’re not familiar, these books are just too cute for words! The authors use everything from candy, to donuts, to funky frosting to make some of the most creative and fun cupcakes you’ve ever seen. I have Hello, Cupcake and I love it! The instructions are super detailed, all the materials you need are laid out explained in the instructions and there’s a picture of every creation. No need to be a pro to make impressive treats for your family and friends!

Since I love the first book so much, I thought you might like to have the second!! I think you’ll really enjoy it!

Now for the specifics. I’ll refrain from using the word ‘rules’. Rules are for chumps, right. 😉

TO ENTER:
Leave a comment on this post telling me about your favorite cupcake! Chocolate or white? Classic or crazy! Do you like ’em doused in frosting or with just a dusting a powdered sugar? Let me know all about it by Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 10:00 p.m. central time and you’re in the running!

A comment will be randomly selected (via random.org) as the winner. The giveaway is open to anyone in the US (my apologies to international readers) who isn’t related to me (sorry Family, you’re not eligible – wouldn’t be fair. 😉 ) I will contact the winner via email on Friday, May 28th.

GOOD LUCK, all! And thanks again for reading!

Disclaimer:
No one contacted me to provide this giveaway. I purchased it myself because I like you and I want you to have it. 😉 I received no compensation, monetary or otherwise for offering this giveaway. It’s just for fun. Really, that’s it.

38 Comments

Filed under Just for Fun

38 responses to “Happy Birth-anni-blog-iversary-day! It’s a GIVEAWAY! – Closed

  1. Aw, happpy blog-iversary!! And anniversary…. and birthday. 🙂

    I didn’t realize they had a new book out! I love Hello, Cupcake! I so want to make those duck cupcakes now!

    My favorite cupcake is vanilla with just a little bit of vanilla frosting and lots and lots of sprinkles. I’m so boring 🙂

  2. Amy

    Happy all over the above! 🙂

    I like vanilla cupcakes with PINK icing (vanilla) and a ton of sprinkles.

    Amy
    artsyrockerchick at aim dot com

  3. Sara

    My favorite “classic” cupcake is red velvet with cream cheese icing, not too much icing though. BUT I recently made margarita cupcakes for the first time and I must say they were de-licious and went just perfectly with our Mexican themed evening. I think these would be considered my favorite, however, I’ve never met a cupcake I didn’t like. 🙂

  4. My favorite cupcakes are red velvet with cream cheese icing!

  5. My favorite cupcake is red velvet with cream cheese frosting, but vanilla is a close second.
    amandarwest at gmaildotcom

  6. My favorite cupcakes are chocolate with chocolate pudding filling and chocolate frosting. Can you tell I like chocolate?

  7. well happy birth-anni-blog-iversary! My favorite cupcakes are the ones my mom used to make for my birthday/Halloween ever year – simple and classic, but oh-so-yummy! Yellow cake with chocolate icing with a candy pumpkin on top. All the fancy cupcakes I’ve learned to make and these are still my favorite!

  8. Happy Birth-anni-blog-iversary-day! Traditionally, I love good vanilla bean cupcake with a whipped chocolate frosting on top. But I also love fun combinations and my new favorite is key lime cupcakes with raspberry cream center and frosting…yum!

  9. Amy

    My favorite cupcake is chocolate with cream cheese frosting. Mmmmmmm!

  10. Happy Everything!
    What an adorable cookbook – those duckies on the cover are just too sweet!

    I LOVE cupcakes and will take them just about any way I can get them. I think my favorite is either chocolate/chocolate or carrot cake/cream cheese. Yum!

  11. Jen

    Happy blog-a-versary/birthday/etc!

    My favorite cupcakes are lemon cake with lemon curd filling with lemon cream cheese icing — best cupcakes I’ve ever made and so delicious.

  12. Amy

    We’re anniversary twins! We just celebrated 4 years as well.
    As for the cupcakes, I like chocolate with vanilla icing. A raspberry filling is always a bonus too!

  13. mic

    congratulations!!!! my favorite is chocolate cupcake with chocolate ganache with chocalate shavings!

  14. Wow, a lot going on! My favorite cupcake would have to be vanilla bean, with vanilla bean frosting. I love vanilla. Although, a super close second would be a cinnamon spice cupcake with cream cheese frosting. Delish!

  15. I like vanilla, crazy, and with frosting. Cute cookbook!

  16. Julie

    Awe..Happy Everything! It’s really hard for me to pick a favorite since I’ve never been known to turn away a cupcake. I’d have to say the ones I’ve made that have gotten the most praise would be the “hamburger” cupcakes that Bakerella made a couple of years ago.

  17. I made a lemon cupcake with a strawberry buttercream a few weeks ago that were so good!! Although you can never go wrong with vanilla cupcake with chocolate icing!

  18. jessica

    i love a good ol’ plain vanilla bean cupcake with strawberry frosting!

  19. You are too cute! Thanks for your wonderful blog, girlie! And congrats on just about everything, to you.

    My favorite cupcake? A beautiful unscathed white cupcake, with fluffy white frosting. I’ve tried so many cupcakes, and I’ve even made some outstanding stuff. But there is a truly special place in my heart for the simplest, vanilla-y, snow white cupcake (with colored sprinkles, always).

  20. LauraKathryne

    I would have to say chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter filling/frosting are my favorites.

    And Happy Birth-anni-blog-iversary to you! I love reading your blog.

  21. h2babe

    Congratulations! My fave is definitely the classic style, I know, boring 😉

    http://blissfullydelicious.wordpress.com

  22. That’s so sweet of you!
    I love the basic vanilla cupcake with lots of chocolate frosting…I just can’t pass up chocolate frosting 🙂

  23. My favorite cupcake is a coconut cupcake. Soft white cake with a little coconut extract in it and then coconut frosting. Yummo!

  24. AmyO

    My favorite cupcake has always been Red Velvet…that is until I tried the Margarita Cupcake recipe that was floating around. Now that’s my new favorite, but I still have a place in my heart for Red Velvet. 🙂

  25. congrats on the blog erin! it has become such a success! and 30 isn’t so bad! 😉

    ok…i’m not a foodie. but my fav cupcake is chocolate…and moist…not crumbly…and has a perfect tasting buttercream icing that looks too beautiful to eat! AND i get to eat it w/out kids. with a glass of milk. savoring each bite.
    delish.

  26. Happy almost birthdays! My husband and I are also 2 weeks apart, our birthday festivities start in 2 and a half weeks!

    Usually my favorite cupcakes are vanilla with vanilla icing and some kind of interesting filling, but this weekend I had a really good coconut cupcake- the icing wasn’t very good, so I just ate the coconut cake part. Coconut cake with vanilla frosting might be my new favorite.

  27. niki

    I am loving margarita cupcakes!

  28. Carlyn

    My favorite cupcake is a Chocolate Cupcakes with Creamy Marshmallow Filling – reminiscent of Hostess Cupcakes – but much, much better! Yum!

  29. thepricklypinecone

    My favorite go to cupcake is vanilla with vanilla frosting but if we go to a bakery or fair I love trying the most exotic looking cupcakes they have!

  30. Emily McQ

    I know I am family, so I can’t enter. But I had to post my favorite cupcake! I love love love a moist red velvet cupcake with cream cheese icing, and sprinkles, of course! I really miss being able to enjoy cupcakes….I always make cupcakes for the kids’ and your brother’s birthday. They are such perfect little servings, and always so exciting to unwrap that crinkly paper wrapper–no waiting for some adult to cut the cake, just grab and go! My favorite parties in elementary school always ended with cupcakes…ah, such great memories!

  31. Liz

    I love a moist cupcake with fancy and delicious frosting 🙂 my absolute favorite cupcakes have a surprise ganache filling on the inside – I love both the chocolate and white chocolate flavors.

  32. CupcakeCaliBride

    A favorite cupcake? Is there such a thing? I think if I *had* to pick I would go for a chocolate cupcake, with a bit of coconut filling, covered with thick chocolate icing. Yummmm!

  33. Deb

    Happy*Happy*Happy!
    My favorite cupcake is Vanilla with Buttercream Icing! Simple, but yummy!

  34. Ooh what a fun giveaway! and HAPPY BIRTHDAY! 🙂 My favorite cupcake? Yeesh. This is hard! If I had to commit to one it really might be the blue velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. They rock!

  35. I love chocolate cupcakes… with just a little bit sugar sprinkles… delish !

    Thx
    Suparna

  36. Ashley

    Chocolate cupcakes with chocolate icing and colored sprinkles!

  37. Erin's Mom

    Any cupcake you make is my favorite!

  38. Red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, yum!

Leave a Reply

