Thank YOU!

Well. The journey has ended for me. I was cut like the risotto from my dinner party menu the other night from the Project Food Blog competition. Just wanted to say a quick THANK YOU to everyone for your support and votes! All of your thoughtful comments made me smile big and laugh loud. That’s all that matters, doesn’t it? Supporting each other and having a good time doing it? I love the food blogging community and I’m so grateful to have even had the chance to compete side by side with some of the best in the biz. I am in awe of so many of them. Best wishes and good luck to all those still kicking!

So, what have we learned from all this? We’ve learned maybe it’s a little tough to get luxurious around a kitchen table in a tiny, 1960s ranchΒ  in small-town Iowa. No formal dining room here. No penthouse city views, no fresh caught lobster, no exotic cheese, no perfectly paired wines. Hell, there wasn’t even make-up and a decent hairstyle on me that evening! LOL. Luxury fail.

None of that matters because you know what there was plenty of that night? Great food. Amazing company. Wonderful good news to share. Laughter. Toasts. Ice cream. Football. Beer. All the good things that make life worth living.

So anyway. Thank you, new readers and old friends. Thank you, Twitter followers and extended family. I would never had made it as far as I did without you! I’m already looking at the things to improve to whip this humble little blog of mine into shape for next year. I hope we all get a chance to try this again next fall!

Thanks for everything and GOOD LUCK!

16 Comments

Filed under Just for Fun, Project Food Blog

16 responses to “Thank YOU!

  1. So sorry to see you go…..I was really enjoying your challenges!! I always enjoy the bloggers who aren’t afraid to be funny and you ALWAYS crack me up!! I seriously love your blog, Erin and I think you did a fantastic job in PFB- they don’t know what they’re missing out on!!
    At least now you can actually enjoy your weekends again…*sigh* πŸ˜‰ Have fun this weekend, girl! You earned it!

    • themilkmanswife

      LOL. Thanks Amy! I’m so glad to see your still in it! All the reasons you listed are the same reasons I love your blog too. I think it’s okay to have fun with it – when blogs read like a serious piece of journalism or something I’m like…sheesh, lighten up, people! πŸ™‚ You totally have fun with your blog and those are the blogs I like best. I think we’re a lot alike, you and me. Good luck to you! Can’t wait to see what you came up with this round! You absolutely have my vote. πŸ™‚

  2. Dang! You deserved to go the distance.
    Regardless of the results of PFB you’re an awesome blogger!

  3. Delilah

    Congrats on making it so far!! Loved your entries.

  4. So sorry, Erin. As usual, you’ve put it in perfect perspective. We all know you’re an awesome cook and baker! I’d come to your place for food, fun, football, and beer any time!

    • themilkmanswife

      Thanks Kelsey! Yeah, I had a great time doing it, our friends had fun while they were here and that’s all that matters! That’s what I love about food – it makes other people happy!

  5. Aw, I am so sorry to see you go! You are a fabulous food blogger and I am glad that you had fun on your journey.

  6. Just wanted to let you know that I voted for you – I really enjoyed all your PFB posts!

  7. I am a fairly new follower of your blog, and I just wanted to tell you how sorry I am to not see you advancing. I was so impressed with your luxury dinner party submission. I thought you did an amazing job, and your entry was my favorite of all the ones I saw. You did a fantastic job of bringing luxury to a country kitchen where it counted and that was the beautifully presented food!

    • themilkmanswife

      Thank you Tasha! Welcome! I’m so glad you’re here. πŸ™‚ I appreciate your kind words. They mean a lot to me. Being the small time country girl is tough sometimes. I feel like I can’t compete with the folks that live in big city foodie paradises. I’m glad others can relate! πŸ™‚

  8. Awww man! I’m dissapointed that you didn’t make it through! 😦 You did a great job with all of your posts and I am sure you would have done an amazing step by step process of something!

Leave a Reply

