Busy.

Hey. Um, World? Yeah…can you just slow down for me? Like just a tiny bit? I’m getting dizzy. Oh boy. Get the sawdust out. This isn’t going to end well.

I’ve been busy. Can you tell? And while I’m busy at work (oh, man SO busy at work) busy at home (SOOOO busy at home), I should really take a lesson from myself and make things like this delicious fresh salad to get me through these packed to the brim days.

Let’s not talk about that three straight days of takeout pizza this past weekend. Don’t you judge me! ūüėČ

I made this delightful fall-inspired salad for my Project Food Blog dinner party. We’re more than a month past this event and I’m STILL trying to get you the recipes from the party. That should be proof enough how busy I’ve been as of late. Sheesh! I’m dropping the ball here.

This salad is light, refreshing and flavorful. I’m a sucker for citrus flavors so I thought the dressing was the perfect compliment to the bold greens and sweet pears. The goat cheese adds a bit of richness and makes it taste and feel hearty. Love that creamy bite. I could easily make a meal out of this with some crusty sourdough bread on the side. YUM.

MIXED LETTUCE, PEAR AND GOAT CHEESE SALAD WITH CITRUS DRESSING (Recipe Source: Cooking Light via MyRecipes.com)

INGREDIENTS:

For the dressing:

  • 1¬† tablespoon¬† finely chopped shallots
  • 1¬† teaspoon¬† Dijon mustard
  • 1/4¬† cup¬† fresh orange juice
  • 4¬† teaspoons¬† fresh Meyer lemon juice
  • 1/4¬† teaspoon¬† kosher salt
  • 1/8¬† teaspoon¬† freshly ground black pepper
  • 4¬† teaspoons¬† extra-virgin olive oil

For the salad:

  • 2¬† tablespoons¬† fresh orange juice
  • 2¬† firm ripe Bosc pears, cored and thinly sliced
  • 6¬† cups¬† mixed baby lettuces
  • 1¬† head Boston or butter lettuce, torn (about 2 cups)
  • 3/4¬† cup¬† (3 ounces) crumbled goat cheese

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Make the dressing: Combine shallots and mustard in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk. Stir in 1/4 cup orange juice, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Gradually whisk in oil, stirring constantly. Dressing can be made ahead. Cover and store in the refrigerator. Whisk well to combine before using.
  2. Make the salad: combine 2 tablespoons orange juice and pears, tossing to coat. Combine lettuces in a large bowl. Drizzle with dressing; toss gently to coat. Arrange about 1 cup lettuce mixture on each of 8 salad plates. Top each serving with about 1/4 cup pear and 1 1/2 tablespoons cheese. Serves 8.

ENJOY! ūüôā

One Year Ago: Stella Cookies (Cinnamon Pecan Crescents. My favorite Christmas cookie)
Two Years Ago: I was NaNo-ing and therefore not cooking much. ūüôā

Leave a comment

Filed under salads, sides, veggies

Leave a Reply

