Bet I Can’t Make Just One!

When we get together with our friends, it’s almost always an informal, everyone brings a snack to share, BYOB type of event. I love it, because then no one can say not to bring anything. LOL. I always go overboard, I just have to bring something savory and something sweet. I physically cannot stop myself from bringing two yummy plates to share.

For our get together with friends over the weekend, I wanted to keep it simple, since I was already doing the cheescakes. A cold dip that’s whipped up in the food processor without much effort sounded perfect!

I’m not a huge dip person normally. Why is “dip” synonymous with white, creamy ickiness? I’ll never understand that. I went out in search of the anti-dip-dip. Preferably using my fave convenience product from the store – the jarred roasted red pepper! LOVE those things. I use them in everything…salads, sandwiches, pasta….they go with everything.

I found a tasty looking Smokey Red Pepper Dip recipe out on the Cooking Light website. It’s a really simple to throw together. It sure does pack a punch though! Wowee! Very potent stuff. (Ya know, I thought two cups of sliced red onion and two cloves of garlic seemed like a lot, LOL) A little goes a long way…don’t chow down on too much of this before your big job interview. Tasty though! I wouldn’t serve  this as the ONLY choice of an appetizer, it’s way too strong, but it’s a nice addition to a heavy appetizer spread. I served it with toasted pita chips.

SMOKEY RED PEPPER DIP WITH TOASTED PITA CHIPS (Recipe Source: Cooking Light)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2  medium red bell peppers (I subbed one large–ish jar of roasted red peppers, drained and blotted dry. If you do this, ignore the first step of the recipe. I left the recipe as is in case you want to try roasting your own peppers!)
  • 2  cups  sliced red onion
  • 2  garlic cloves
  • 1/4  cup  dry breadcumbs
  • 1/4  cup  plain fat-free yogurt
  • 1  tablespoon  red wine vinegar
  • 2  teaspoons  olive oil
  • 1/8  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon  hot sauce

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cut bell peppers in half lengthwise; discard seeds and membranes. Place pepper halves, skin sides up, on a foil-lined baking sheet; flatten with hand. Arrange onion and garlic around peppers on baking sheet. Broil 10 minutes or until blackened. Place in a zip-top plastic bag; seal. Let stand 15 minutes; peel.
  2. Place peppers, onion, and garlic in a food processor; process until finely chopped. Add remaining ingredients; process until smooth. Serve with toasted pita triangles.

For the Pita Chips:

  • 6 whole wheat pitas
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Cut each pita into 8 triangles. Layer onto a large cookie sheet covered in foil. Drizzle with olive oil and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper. Toast in a 400 degree oven until crisp, about 10 minutes. Cool and serve.

3 Comments

Filed under appetizers, veggies

3 responses to “Bet I Can’t Make Just One!

  1. For the longest time I was so anti red pepper…. but these days I’m warming up to them again and would love to try this recipe soon!

  2. I am the same way when we get together with friends – I’ll try and bring waaaayy too much food because I can’t narrow down which recipe to make!
    This dip looks perfect, and a nice change from the mayo-filled white goopy grossness that a lot of dips seem to be!

  3. Pingback: Orange you glad… « Milk & Honey

Leave a comment