Retro Fab!

One of my favorite things to do when I go back home to my mom and dad’s is to raid all the old newspaper clippings and handwritten recipe cards my mom has collected over the years. It’s fun to see how recipes have changed (and remained the same, for that matter) as the years have passed. Some of the things in there are things we still enjoy today, some are things I haven’t had in years, and some I don’t think I’ve ever had. The handwritten recipe card is a dying art form. I wish I had the discipline to bring it back. Alas, I’m going to collect recipes in my blog instead. How new millennium of me. šŸ™‚

The last time I was home I stumbled across a real blast from the past that I knew I had to try again – My grandma’s potato chip cookies!! My grandma always seemed to have these around and I always enjoyed them. They are crisp but tender, sweet and salty and totally yummy. I think they are kind of a love it or hate it kind of thing so I encourage you to try them if you are curious!

I changed the recipe to accommodate what I had on hand and I decided to mix in some mini chocolate chips. My grandma usually topped hers with a candied dried cherry, a whole pecan or walnut or sprinkles, but I thought chocolate in every bite would be a nice addition.

As with most handwritten recipes, the directions are pretty sparse, so I went ahead and wrote out how I went about making these.Ā  They turned out great! Eric really enjoyed them and they brought back lots of great memories for me too.

POTATO CHIP COOKIES (Recipe Source: Grandma Evelyn)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 sticks margarine, softened
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened (I used all unsalted butter instead of the margarine because that’s what I had on hand, but you could probably go either way)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 cup crushed potato chips (I used kettle chips for extra crunch!)
  • 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Cream together the margarine/butter, sugar and vanilla with an electric mixer until light and fluffly. Mix in flour and beat until combined. Fold in potato chips and chocolate chips if using.
  3. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten cookies slightly with the bottom of a glass (spray with cooking spray, if needed). Bake for 10 to 15 minutes until the edges turn golden brown. Transfer to wire racks to cool.

Makes about 3 dozen.

ENJOY! šŸ™‚

8 Comments

Filed under chocolate, cookies

8 responses to “Retro Fab!

  1. brannyboilsover

    So intriguing!

  2. Wow! Usually I read a recipe and can sort of figure out how it would taste, but I can’t from this recipe! It’s so different and I totally want to try it, even though I hate baking. You may have just peaked my curiosity!

  3. What a cool idea – and you KNOW i love the retro recipes! šŸ˜‰

  4. I’ve heard of potato chip cookies but haven’t tried them. I would think the salt and sweet flavors really work well in this! Thanks for sharing – I’ll have to star this so I can make it soon!

  5. I’ve never heard of such a thing. I’m incredibly intrigued by these!

  6. Pingback: House Rules « Milk & Honey

  7. Pingback: You Look Familiar… | Milk & Honey

Leave a comment