Ch-Ch-Changes

This blog needs a makeover. Bad. If Stacey and Clinton from What Not to Wear were here, they’d be massacring this blog’s lack of style in the 360 degree mirror. πŸ™‚

I’d like to change up the look, which is, of course, a massive undertaking. And considering I have ZERO computer ability (really, I’m lucky I figured out how to put a picture in my posts. Ha.) you’ll need to bear with me while I figure it out. Before I dive into all that. I need to do some reorganization, clean up and make sure I have all the information I want on my page.

First on the reorganization/clean up list is to fix the categories list. Somewhere in the last year and a couple months, I got really lazy when it came to tagging my entries. Oops. Stuff was all over the place. I had a brownie recipe tagged as just “cookies.” Um, yeah. That’s pretty inaccurate. Ha. If you clicked on a tag, it’s very unlikely you would find everything that should be there. Not cool.

I’ve come to the conclusion that less is more when it comes to tags. A huge list of every single possible ingredient you have ever cooked with is distracting. What I did was keep it simple and narrow down the categories to make them more broad. I picked out one item that best categorizes the recipe (example: Cookies) and then added one other main ingredient in the recipe (example: chocolate, fruit, peanut butter). I think this just makes everything easier for everyone. I have removed most of the more specific ingredients and made them broader (example, I tagged everything apple, banana, blueberry as simpley fruit.) It’s pretty obvious, that if I’m looking for a blueberry recipe I can click on fruit and find it there. πŸ™‚

In all honesty, if you are looking for something specific, you are much better off navigating the Recipes tab at the top of the page. Every recipe I make is added there, with a quick clicky link to get to the post. They are arranged by category and in alphabetical order. Easy-peasy. See, the thing is, even though every recipe is tagged, you may find that clicking the tag doesn’t help you. At all. Two reasons. 1. I never title my posts with the name of the recipe. Ha. Sorry, you gotta look for that. And 2. It’s very unlikely you’ll have any clue what the recipe actually is from the first couple sentences that are shown when you click a link to a tag. πŸ™‚ I have to tell my story first.

What can I say? I’m a rotten, mean food blogger…making you read my pointless dribble before you get to the food. I can actually hear the masses shouting “SHUT UP, WINDBAG, AND GET TO THE DAMN RECIPE ALREADY!”

I can very safely say, that with all the changes I have planned, THAT (the pointless dribble, that is) is the one thing that WILL NOT change. Take or leave it, my friends.

I hope you’ll take it. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under blog upgrades

Leave a Reply

