Sugar Cookies

Sugar cookies are not my personal fave, but they are usually a crowd favorite, especially around the holidays. Had to make up a batch for the open house. I don’t think I even tried one of these (lol) but everyone loved them! I did some with just sprinkles and some with icing. I admit, I bought frosting in a tube. I had so many other things to make, I just couldn’t deal with making my own this time around.

I spotted these over at one of my favorite blogs – The Way the Cookie Crumbles (delish recipes and awesome photos!!). I liked how they used butter instead of shortening, and they looked like they’d come together quickly, so I decided to give them a try.

My decorating skills are…sub par to say the very least – so sorry about that. Someday I’ll work on that…I just don’t much decorating.  The “SCP” on the cookies are the acronym for the non-profit I work for. My boss and the volunteers got a huge kick out of this personal touch. These were lots of fun! 🙂

FAMOUS SUGAR COOKIES (Recipe Source: As seen on The Way the Cookie Crumbles, originally adapted from bakingblonde)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2¾ cups (13.75 ounces) flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 16 tablespoons (2 sticks) butter, very soft
  • 1 cup (7 ounces) sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat oven to 375F. In a small bowl, stir together the flour, salt, and baking powder.

2. Beat butter until smooth, about 1 minute. Add sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add egg and vanilla and beat until combined, about 30 seconds. Add dry ingredients and beat at low speed until just combined, about 30 seconds, scraping down bowl as needed.

3. Place dough on floured work surface and roll to ⅓-inch thickness. Use cookie cutter to cut desired shapes.

4. Place cookies on baking sheets and bake for 6-9 minutes, until cookies are beginning to brown on bottom and around edges. Don’t overbake or they will be crisp.

5. Transfer to wire racks to cool. Cool completely before frosting.

ENJOY! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under cookies

5 responses to “Sugar Cookies

  1. What delicious looking sugar cookies. Yum!

  2. joelen

    What a great batch of cookies! I hope you considering submitting this to my Holiday Cookie blogging event. Details are in my blog’s left sidebar and the deadline is this weekend!

  3. I’m so glad these went over well! I loved them after I figured out that I needed to bake them for just a very short time.

    I think you’re decorating job is cute!

  4. bakingblonde

    These are too cute! I love this recipe, glad others do as well.
    I can’t believe i didn’t have your blog in my googlereader until now!!

  5. Pingback: Firework | Milk & Honey

Leave a comment